A Family For Every Child
A Family For Every Child
Donate Now FAMILY LOGIN Contact Us
Facebook Twitter Linked In YouTube
 
Pinterest Instagram Blog

For further information, please call 877-343-2856 or email matching@afamilyforeverychild.org
Marc and Patrick
Marc and Patrick

Marc and Patrick
Oregon

Basic Info

Marc

Age: 45
Sex: Male
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian
Religion: Christian

Patrick

Age: 60
Sex: Male
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian
Religion: Christian

Child Preferences

Age: 5 to 15 years old
Sex: Male
Max Number of Children: 2
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian, Hispanic, Mixed


Special Needs the Family is Open To: Moderate Physical/Medical Disability, Willing to Maintain Contact via Mail with Bio Family, Willing to Maintain Contact with Past Foster Parents, Willing to Maintain Contact with Bio Grandparents & Other Relatives, Willing to Maintain Contact with Bio Siblings

Environment

State: Oregon
Neighborhood: City/Urban
Residency:
Years Together: 19
Children in the Home: 0
Pet(s): Cat(s)

Work

Marc

Occupation: Vice President

Patrick

Occupation: Owner

Adoption Agency

Agency: A Family For Every Child
Worker: Jammie Trimble
Worker: jammie@afamilyforeverychild.org
City: Eugene
State: Oregon
Zip: 97402

Family Description

We are a professional, male couple. We have been together for 19 years. We have three grown children who do not live in the home with us. We have two older cats. We enjoy going out and doing things but also like to be at home. We are looking forward to adding to our family.

Preference Description

We are looking to adopt a boy between the ages of 5 and 15 years old, of Caucasian, Hispanic or mixed ethnic background. We are willing to accept moderate medically correctable conditions such as emotional, learning, or physical or developmental needs.

Draughon-Smith Family Profile

We would like to add a son to our family, between the ages of 5-15. We are looking for one child, however, if there happens to be a sibling available we would want to keep them together. We are open to adopt a child who is Caucasian, Hispanic or mixed. We plan to incorporate our child's unique background into our family and our traditions.

We feel strongly that it is important to keep the child connected to people who are important in his life after coming to live with us. This may include maintaining contact with siblings, grandparents or letters from parents, depending on the child's needs, wants and the best interest of the child. We are open to mild to moderate emotional and physical disabilities and will consider children on a case by case basis. We feel confident that we can parent a child who may need extra attention and guidance from us.

About Us

Marc works as the vice president at a credit union. He can be shy at first but will open up once he is comfortable. He likes routine and can sometimes be predictable. He enjoys baking, watching movies, hiking and having friends over. He likes one on one interaction with people more than interacting with large groups of people.

Patrick is the owner/president of a real estate company. He can easily engage with people who he does not know. He can be spontaneous and likes his days mixed with different activities. Patrick enjoys doing projects around the house, building furniture and hanging out with his family and friends. He loves to cook and likes to invite his friends over to try his new recipes. He likes to watch comedies, documentaries and sports.

We both work Monday through Friday. We have evenings and weekends off. We can make our schedules flexible to accommodate the needs of a new child in our home. In fact, we plan to do exactly that! We are excited to invest the time into our child to facilitate playing sports, music lessons, drama clubs or whatever else in which he may have an interest.

We enjoy sharing a meal every night at dinner as a family. This gives us a chance to catch up with each other and enjoy some conversation while eating dinner. On the weekends, we like to have friends over for food, games and BBQ. We also take our kids and their families out to eat or go watch their children play sports. We like to go out to dinner, concerts and watch sporting events. When the weather is nice, we like to go walking in the evenings.

We love the major holidays, birthdays and going on trips. We like to take short road trips but prefer to fly to our vacation destinations to maximize our time away from home.

Home and Community

We have a 5-bedroom home located in Portland Oregon. We are close to public transportation that allows us easy access to downtown for shopping, concerts, sporting events, the zoo, museums, and many other activities.

Near our home we have several parks that include places to shoot hoops, play baseball, swim, soccer, tennis as well as walking and biking trails. We also live close to restaurants, coffee shops, retail and grocery. The middle school and high school are within 2 miles from our house with easy access to and from work. We live in a diverse community with people from all ethnicities.

We are close to the mountains and close to the ocean beaches. There are many scenic spots to hike and enjoy nature in the city as well as a short drive outside of the city.

We are home to the Portland Trailblazers basketball, The Portland Timbers soccer and the Portland Winterhawks hockey teams.

Parenting Experience

We have been together for 19 years and have three grown daughters. Two of our daughters have children (current total of 5 grandkids) ranging in ages from 3-14 and live near us and the third one lives in Texas. Aside from raising three girls, we have 8 nephews and 3 nieces. One of our nephews was adopted as an infant. Our family is diverse as we all have different ethnic backgrounds. Our daughters are part African American, our nephew is also part African American as well as part Inuit. Our youngest daughter has two children who are half Mexican. We enjoy the different backgrounds that make our family.

Working with the boys and girls club this past summer gave Marc experience with children in our community. Many came from single parent families, minority communities and a range of socioeconomic backgrounds. Many of the boys were considered "troublesome," however these ended up being his favorite kids to be around.

We have enjoyed learning about TBRI for teens as well as the Healing Family Series by Karyn Purvis.

Support

We have some great friends (two different families) that have gone through the adoption process who are supporting us through our journey. We were allowed to interview their teenage children and ask them personal questions about being adopted, having two dads, and any advice they would want us to know. Both boys are excited that we are choosing to adopt an older child and cannot wait to meet him. We also have supportive family who are very excited about having another member in the family. Marc's sister has been through foster to adopt and has a lot of helpful advice and support for us. Our three girls are very excited to have a little brother in the family. Two of them live close by and have children about the age range of the child we are looking for.

We have been given names of counselors who specialize in adoptions as well as family counselors. We plan to utilize any services needed to help care for our child.

Motivation to Adopt

We look forward to giving a child unconditional love, support, guidance and a chance to heal from his past. We want to give this child a chance at life that he may not have if he ages out of foster care. We are excited to share our lives with him and his life with us. We cannot wait to make him a part of our family, take him on vacations and experience holidays together.

We know that there are a lot of positive things to look forward to, but we are also aware that there may be a lot of work during this process. We would like a child with mild issues, but have learned that the right child may have moderate issues that we are more than willing to work with. We are pro-counseling and any type of support therapy that is necessary for us and our child. We are looking at this as a lifelong commitment to this child. We believe that when we find the right child, we will love and take care of him unconditionally no matter what his issues are. Since we are looking at an older child, we have no rush to get him out the door when he turns 18. We would like for him to stay with us until he is prepared to take on the world, even if that means some extra years after high school or college.