A Family For Every Child
A Family For Every Child
Donate Now FAMILY LOGIN Contact Us
Facebook Twitter Linked In YouTube
 
Pinterest Instagram Blog

For further information, please call 877-343-2856 or email matching@afamilyforeverychild.org
Katie and David
Katie and David

Katie and David
Oregon

Basic Info

Katie

Age: 46
Sex: Female
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian
Religion: Christian

David

Age: 47
Sex: Male
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian
Religion: Jewish

Child Preferences

Age: Infant to 7 years old
Sex: Either
Max Number of Children: 2
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian, African American, Asian, Native American, Hispanic, Pacific Islander, Mixed, Bi-Racial


Special Needs the Family is Open To: Mild Physical/Medical Disability, Animal Allergies, Asthma, Drug Allergies, Environmental Allergies, Food Allergies, Physically Aggressive to Other Children, Defiant, Difficulty in Attaching, Difficulty Making Friends, Encopresis, Lying, Manipulative, Poor Social Skills, Self-Abuse, Stealing, Suicidal Attempts, Tantrums-Severe, Wets the Bed, Failure to Thrive, Fetal Alcohol Effected, Low Birth Weight or Premature, Prenatal Drug Exposure, Non-Ambulatory, Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Physically Disabled-Mild, Blind, Deaf, Hearing Impaired, Mental Retardation - Mild, Speech Delays - Mild, Speech Delays - Moderate, Speech Delays - Severe, Vision Impaired, Anorexia/Bulimia, Hoarding, Overeating, Pica, Academically behind due to poor attendance, Cognitive Delay - Mild, Cognitive Delay - Severe, Expulsion(s), Has Behavior Problems in School, Mild Learning Disabilities, Moderate Learning Disabilities, Severe Learning Disabilities, Speech or Language Impairment, Suspension(s), One/Both Parents Diagnosed with Depression, One/Both Parents Have Alcohol Addiction, One/Both Parents Have Drug Addiction, One/Both Parents Diagnosed with Bipolar, Exposed to Domestic Violence, One/Both Parents Have Had a Mental Diagnosis, Child has had a disrupted adoption, Multiple Placements, Parents Willing to Seek Guardianship, ADHD, Arthritis, Cancer, Cerebral Palsy, Cystic Fibrosis, Diabetes, Down Syndrome, Epilepsy, Heart Disorder: May Require Surgery, Missing Limbs: May Require Prosthesis, Muscular Dystrophy, Seizures, Sickle Cell Disease, Sickle Cell Traits, Adjustment Disorder, Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, Bipolar Disorder, Depression, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, Reactive Attachment Disorder, Requires Medication For Psychiatric Condition/Mental Health Diagnosis, Requires Counseling/Therapy, Destructive of Property, Runaway - Occasionally, Runaway - Past, Willing to Maintain Contact via Mail with Bio Family, Willing to Maintain Contact with Past Foster Parents, Willing to Maintain Contact with Bio Grandparents & Other Relatives, Willing to Maintain Contact with Bio Siblings, Child Identifies as LGBT, History of Sexually Acting Out, Sexually Abused in the Past, Alcohol Use, Marijuana, Smokes Cigarettes

Environment

State: Oregon
Neighborhood: City/Urban
Residency:
Years Together: 10
Children in the Home: 1
Pet(s): Cat(s), farm animal(s)

Work

Katie

Occupation: Special education teacher K-5

David

Occupation: Carpenter

Adoption Agency

Agency: A Family For Every Child
Worker: Rosalind Trotter
City: Eugene
State: Oregon
Zip: 97402

Family Description

We are a family of three, including one teenage daughter. We live in an urban area in Oregon. We have cats (2 indoor, 1 outdoor), chickens, and beehives. David converted our yard into a garden ten years ago. We have several fruit trees, berry bushes, herbs, flowers, and vegetables. Our daughter loves to forage for snacks as the seasons change. Our house is cozy and comfortable. We enjoy cooking and working in the yard. On Saturdays we all work around the house doing different chores, taking care of the house and getting it ready for the coming week. Chores outside the house on weekends include trips to county recycling service and grocery shopping. We also spend time on food planning and preparation for the coming week. David and Katie have several musical instruments including a piano, accordion, guitar, and mandolin. We enjoy watching movies, playing games, and creating. David is a carpenter, Katie enjoys painting and journal writing, Aviv is a talented artist with pencils, markers, and many other art supplies. We enjoy taking walks, whether in the neighborhood, at the local wetlands, or in other natural settings. Katie loves identifying birds while David studies the trees and plants.

Preference Description

We are looking to adopt a child 0-4 years old, possibly with 1 older sibling (any ethnic background). We are willing to accept minor or medically correctable conditions and/or with special needs (ex: PTSD, attachment, learning, or developmental delays).

New addition(s) :)

We would like to adopt a child who is younger than 5 years old. We are open to boys or girls and feel we can accommodate a sibling group of up to 2 kids. We are hoping to adopt children with minor or medically correctable conditions and/or special needs (ex: PTSD, learning, and/or developmental delays). We are looking forward to welcoming a child or children into our family and are excited to learn about and honor their life experiences, relationships and connections.

Life with the Bernsteins

My name is Katie. David and I met 10 years ago and were married 5 years ago. David is a carpenter and works for the City government. I am a K-5 special education teacher and will be taking at least a year off to be a full-time mom. We have one daughter, Aviv, who is 18 and almost a high school graduate! She is David's biological daughter and my stepdaughter. She is academically gifted and creative. She enjoys working with children in a preschool setting. In her free time she loves listening to music and cuddling the cats. David and Aviv are Jewish and mark the Sabbath on Friday evenings with short prayers. In our free time, we love digging in our garden, taking care of the animals (cats and chickens), playing games or music, or working on various projects in and around the house. Our weekend activities include a balance of fun and routine. We sometimes opt for recreation in the city and surrounding natural areas or staying close to home ("low key") and relax. Our weekend routine also includes tasks to take care of the house and get things organized and prepared for the next week.

Home and Community

We live in a one story house with three bedrooms and one bath. It is cozy and comfortable, featuring David's woodwork and paintings and sculptures that Aviv and I have created. We have a backyard full of trees, berry bushes, vegetables, flowers, a flock of chickens and some beehives, so we spend a lot of time there. We live close to an elementary school and down the street from middle and high schools. Parks and a main city bike path are in walking distance.

Parenting Experience

Aviv is 18 years old and lives with us half-time. David is an exceptional father, guiding Aviv throughout her life, allowing her to exercise independence and take risks. For the past 10 years, David and I have worked in partnership to guide, mentor, and coach her as she grows into a young adult. Additionally, Katie has been an educator for 20 years, starting as a high school teacher and now working with students grades K-5.

Support

David and Katie have support from family, both locally and from a distance. Katie's sister and family live an hour away and are available to support in many ways. David and Katie have out-of-state family who are able to travel and stay long-term to help with the new family transition. Through her work as a teacher, Katie has experience with many local social service organizations.

Motivation to Adopt

We are aware of how blessed and lucky we are to have such a strong, healthy, and fun partnership. It has translated into a loving and safe home for Aviv. We are looking forward to meeting our new child or children where they are, and working together to build a plan and structure that will help them feel safe, loved, and enable them to thrive.