A Family For Every Child
A Family For Every Child
Donate Now FAMILY LOGIN Contact Us
Facebook Twitter Linked In YouTube
 
Pinterest Instagram Blog

For further information, please call 877-343-2856 or email matching@afamilyforeverychild.org
Dawn and Scott
Dawn and Scott

Dawn and Scott
Oregon

Basic Info

Dawn

Age: 44
Sex: Female
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian
Religion: None

Scott

Age: 50
Sex: Male
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian
Religion: None

Child Preferences

Age: Infant to 10 years old
Sex: Either
Max Number of Children: 1
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian, African American, Asian, Native American, Hispanic, Pacific Islander, Mixed, Bi-Racial, Unknown


Special Needs the Family is Open To: Any Child, Animal Allergies, Asthma, Drug Allergies, Environmental Allergies, Food Allergies, Difficulty Making Friends, Wets the Bed, Failure to Thrive, Fetal Alcohol Effected, Low Birth Weight or Premature, Prenatal Drug Exposure, Academically behind due to poor attendance, Mild Learning Disabilities, Suspension(s), One/Both Parents Diagnosed with Depression, One/Both Parents Have Alcohol Addiction, Exposed to Domestic Violence, Child has had a disrupted adoption, Cystic Fibrosis, Diabetes, Oppositional Defiant Disorder, Requires Counseling/Therapy, Willing to Maintain Contact via Mail with Bio Family, Willing to Maintain Contact with Past Foster Parents, Willing to Maintain Contact with Bio Grandparents & Other Relatives, Willing to Maintain Contact with Bio Siblings, Child Identifies as LGBT, Sexually Abused in the Past

Environment

State: Oregon
Neighborhood: City/Urban
Residency:
Years Together: 10
Children in the Home: 2
Pet(s): Dog(s)

Work

Dawn

Occupation: Athletic Director

Scott

Occupation: pharmacist

Adoption Agency

Agency: a family for every child
Worker: Lyndsie Wynn
Worker: lyndsie@afamilyforeverychild.org
City: Eugene
State: Oregon
Zip: 97402

Family Description

Scott is a pharmacist of 20 years who grew up in the same small town we currently live in. He has 2 boys 17 and 21, and was granted full custody in his divorce in 2011. Scott and Dawn have been in a relationship for 9 years and married for 5. Dawn and Scott have a 5 year old girl who is excited to start kindergarten. We are an active family with 2nd home in Portland, where we frequent often, a vacation rental in Bend, OR and family cabins in the Wallowas. We explore Oregon nearly each weekend. We are on the go and always try new things. More about Dawn from her work bio: Dawn DiFuria-McClendon was named Blue Mountain Community College Director of Athletics and Student Life in March 2018, after a 6-month interim role. Since arriving at BMCC in 2014 DiFuria-McClendon has quickly moved up in her leadership at BMCC. A graduate of University of Arizona where she earned a Master’s in Liberal Studies, emphasis in gender and ethics. Undergraduate degrees in Communication and Social Science both from Boise State University, as well as 2 Associates degrees, Criminal Justice, Social Science, from Boise State University. Dawn resides in Pendleton, OR with her husband Scott, step-son Ian, daughter Lilly and two dogs, Brew and Libby.

Preference Description

A child who gets along with young children, excited about expiring, trying new things, athletics, arts, reading, drawing, all are welcomed and will be supported.

Adventurous, Active, Outdoorsy, & Fun!

Hello! We are Dawn and Scott, we met in Oregon and live in Oregon. We started our relationship 10 years ago traveling and exploring the world together and we continue to do so now. We have created a wonderful life in a small town in Eastern Oregon. Our home is loving, stable, and healthy. We are ready to have a child who will thrive in the world. Our dreams are to raise a child who will be confident, happy, and successful. We want our children to know they are loved and accepted just as they are and that they are special and valued. We want our children to enjoy life, get a good education, and have strong bonds with family, friends, and their community. We picture a fun and active lifestyle for our child. We also would like our child to be respectful and responsible, and to have compassion for others. We would like to adopt a child with any ethnic background who is less than 10 years old. We are open to sibling groups if it comes up.

Dawn and Scott what life is like with us!

Hi, we are Dawn, Scott, Lilly, Ian (and Brew & Libby the dogs). Thanks for taking the time to get to know a bit about us!

Scott was born in Pendleton, Oregon and grew up the same town. Dawn is originally from California with roots in Boise, Idaho, Southern Oregon, Portland, Oregon and now lives in Pendleton, Oregon. We met over a decade ago through mutual friends and have been together ever since, getting married in 2015 and having our daughter the same year. Our dogs are Libby and Brew. Libby is a half lab/half german shepherd and Brew is an older chocolate lab, he's been with us for nearly the entire 10 years. We love spending time together whether it is going out to dinner, going for a walk, or traveling to Puerto Rico (among other places!). We are active family and you can bet we always have plans for our next adventure. We enjoy traveling, visiting family, visiting new places, eating at new restaurants, and loving life.

We spend our free time being fairly active and on the go. Scott is a fisherman, runner and we are both nature-lovers who enjoys hiking, backpacking, and seeking new places to explore. Dawn loves swimming, sports, and traveling. Together, we love to try new things, restaurants, campsites, towns, cities, parks, and spending time with our family and friends. We also love being at home working on projects, and watching some tv, trying out new recipes, and barbequing and hanging in the hot tub in the backyard.

Scott is a generous and hard-working person you can always count on. He is a pharmacist and is a loyal and dedicated professional. He can solve any problem, big or small, and gets a lot of joy from helping others. He has been a pharmacist for nearly 20 years and is passionate about his career.

Dawn is nurturing, funny and warm and is the planner of the family. She loves one-on-one, heartfelt conversations and is very easy to get to know. She is an Athletic Director for a Community College in Pendleton and loves surrounding herself with sports, athletes and the fun it brings when around young minds and energy. We both feel so fortunate to have careers we enjoy with a good work/life balance.

We value inclusion, equality and inherent dignity for every person. Those values are and will continue to be reflected in our parenting and in our relationship with our new child. We can't wait to share our loving community, adventures, and passions with our future child.

Home and Community Pendleton, Oregon

Pendleton is located at the base of the Blue Mountains in Northeastern Oregon. Pendleton is known worldwide for the Pendleton Round Up (Rodeo), which takes place the second week of September for more than a 100 years. We are equally proud of our school district that provides diverse opportunities for students in preparation for their lives after high school. Pendleton has 22 public parks and 20 landscape and recreation sites including an aquatic center, auditorium, club room and little league parks and theaters. Pendleton has been awarded the "Best town in Oregon to raise a family" , by Bloomsburg Business week. Is is also rated the top 10 in the state for graduation rates, ranked top 10 safest city in Oregon, most solarized city in Oregon with sate of the art aquifer storage and recovers systems. And an abundance of cultural activities: art center, library, community theater, symphony, historical attraction, movies in the park, underground tours, saddle making, tribal museum: Tamastslikt, highschool and collegiate athletic programs. Moreover, best river walk in Eastern Oregon, also many outdoor activities, hunting, fishing, skiing, snowshoeing cycling, hiking. There is also a rural airport in Pendleton with direct 50min flight to Portland. Finally, we can't forget the beauty of the Blue Mountains, Umatilla river, and the city surrounded by wheat fields and many other agricultural crops.

We love our home and community. We live within blocks of several highly rated parks, restaurants, a library, an elementary school, a farmer's market, and community event spaces. Our ranch-style house has a backyard, hot tub, grassy space to run around, and a large deck for barbecues and get-togethers (which is great since we love to have people over). Some of our closest friends live in the same town, and they all will be very active in our child's life.

Parenting Experience

Dawn brings a background in : Being a sport coach 4 years YMCA - Mentor, coach, trainer, and referee for ages 5-15 for 6 years Teacher/Instructor College - 6 years Refugee Ambassador 5 years (focused on resettling refugees from the Middle East to Boise, ID). Taught English in Italy for a year Extensive international and domestic travel (South Korea, Italy, Paris, Ireland, Costa Rica, Puerto Rico, Mexico to name a few and been to nearly 25 states in the US) Athletic Director (mentor, coach, teacher) - 4 years Big Sister Big Brother Big Sister program - 5 years Trained and volunteered in Domestic Violence hotline, sexual assault hotline, and worked 5 years at DV shelter. Over 100hrs of training relating to trauma, violence, child and adult-focused. Volunteer at a variety of youth programs over the last 20years

Scott has raised 2 boys (21 and 18), and spends a great deal of his time with his kids, teaching hobbies, traveling and including them in all parts of his life. He travels with his family and loves to share life experiences to them.

Together we have a great deal of parenting training, education and a wide variety of experience.

Support

Our family and community are ready to support our child, their birth family, and us as we grow together as a family. We are grateful to be part of such a loving and supportive circle and look forward to expanding it even further through open adoption.

We live in an urban part of a small town. Our home is within walking distance to schools, downtown, art center, aquatic center, library, and many parks. We also live across one block from the river walk that leads to path along along the Umatilla River. The path offers, parks, fishing sport, and bike paths, along with leisure walking. We also live 1 mile from a skate park and from a city park with a playground, tennis courts, basketball court, field, and view of the blue mountains.

Motivation to Adopt

We know adoptoin is right for us, we quickly discovered that it feels like the perfect fit. We believe a family can take a million beautiful forms and that building an open and honest bond with our family and child. We also value mutual love and respect and believe these things have the power to turn strangers into friends and acquaintances into family. We are committed to the ups and downs ahead and know that our experience and resillance will guide us to a positive path forward. We are so excited and ready for what the future holds!