A Family For Every Child
A Family For Every Child
Donate Now FAMILY LOGIN Contact Us
Facebook Twitter Linked In YouTube
 
Pinterest Instagram Blog

For further information, please call 877-343-2856 or email matching@afamilyforeverychild.org
Dustin and Andrea
Dustin and Andrea

Dustin and Andrea
Oregon

Basic Info

Dustin

Age: 48
Sex: Male
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian
Religion: Christian

Andrea

Age: 45
Sex: Female
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian
Religion: Christian

Child Preferences

Age: 2 to 15 years old
Sex: Either
Max Number of Children: 4
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian, African American, Asian, Native American, Hispanic, Pacific Islander


Special Needs the Family is Open To: Mild Physical/Medical Disability (Open to Discussion), Animal Allergies, Asthma, Drug Allergies, Environmental Allergies, Food Allergies, Defiant, Difficulty Making Friends, Lying, Manipulative, Poor Social Skills, Stealing, Wets the Bed, Born with HIV issues or HIV Positive, Prenatal Drug Exposure, Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Physically Disabled-Mild, Physically Disabled-Severe, Hearing Impaired, Speech Delays - Mild, Vision Impaired, Hoarding, Academically behind due to poor attendance, Cognitive Delay - Mild, Expulsion(s), Has Behavior Problems in School, Mild Learning Disabilities, Moderate Learning Disabilities, Speech or Language Impairment, Suspension(s), Exposed to Domestic Violence, ADHD, Arthritis, Diabetes, Down Syndrome, HIV, Missing Limbs: May Require Prosthesis, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, Requires Counseling/Therapy, Willing to Maintain Contact via Mail with Bio Family, Willing to Maintain Contact with Past Foster Parents, Willing to Maintain Contact with Bio Grandparents & Other Relatives, Willing to Maintain Contact with Bio Siblings, Sexually Abused in the Past

Environment

State: Oregon
Neighborhood: Country/Rural
Residency:
Years Together: 24
Children in the Home: 2
Pet(s): Dog(s), cat(s), farm animal(s), small animal/rodent(s)

Work

Dustin

Occupation: Owner of business

Andrea

Occupation:

Adoption Agency

Agency: A family for every child
Worker: Joanna Crawford
Worker: joannacrawford@afamilyforeverychild.org
City: EUGENE
State: Oregon
Zip: 97402

Family Description

We are an active, fun, full of life family of four ready to open our hearts, home and life to more children. Adoption has been on our hearts for more than 30 years and we are ready to step into this new chapter. We live out in the country on a little over 5 acres with our two big dogs, two kitties, one guinea pig and soon the two horses will be here. Dustin owns a construction and manufacturing company with his younger brother and they have had it for about 26 years. Andrea is a stay at home mom who home-schools Avery, their 16 year old daughter. Kaden, who is 18, just graduated from Salem Academy and is planing on taking a gap year this next school year to work for his Dad, save money and decide what he would like to pursue. Together we like to hike, play games, watch movies, travel and do lots of outdoor sports. All four of us are excited about finding the child/children that are meant to become apart of our family.

Preference Description

We are open to adopting a sibling group of either boys, girls or a mixture of the two. We would like children between the ages of 2 and 15 and are open to any ethnic back round. We are open to mild physical/mental disabilities and open to discussions.

The Sullenger Family Profile

We would like to adopt children between the ages of 0 and 15. We are open to boys or girls. We feel we can accommodate a sibling group of up to 6 kids. We prefer to adopt a child of Caucasian, Hispanic, Black, Asian, Native american or Pacific islander ethnic background. We are open to children with many, many special needs. In general, We are open to adopting a sibling group of either boys, girls or a mixture of the two. We would like children between the ages of 2 and 15 and are open to any ethnic back round. We are open to mild physical/mental disabilities and open to discussions.

Introduction

Our names are Andrea & Dustin Sullenger. I am currently 44 years old. My husband, Dustin is currently 48 years old. We have 2 kids. Our children's names are Avery and Kaden and they are 16 and 19 years old, respectively. Our children are of caucasian ethnicity.

I am a stay-at-home parent and have a very flexible schedule.

Dustin is a business owner and works full-time. His company is called Oregon Bath & Kitchen, he has been in business with his younger brother for 26 years and has a flexible work schedule.

We are a very light-hearted family that loves to laugh. If you were to ask our friends they would all tell you we are very funny and always have some crazy story to share. We tend to like to play practical jokes on one another and the kids love to hide and scare me...they think this is hilarious, me, not so much - ha!

Home and Community

We live in the State of Oregon. We live in the country on a little over 5 acres with lots of trees. All of our neighbors have 5+ acres also. We are about 15 minutes to South Salem and about 10 minutes to a town called Stayton. We love it out here. We have a big house with lots of windows and it makes you feel like you are in a tree house. We are planning on building a new barn this year to house Avery's horses and hopefully get some goats, sheep and maybe an alpaca or two. We would like to get chickens also. We just moved to this property in May and before that we had a really awesome chicken coop and loved having chickens at our last home. We have two big dogs. One is a Saint Bernard named Penny and she is 4 years old. She loves people and is always sure you have come to visit her. She will be extremely happy if you let her sleep on your bed, sometimes the kids do and she loves it. She weighs about 120 lbs. so she is way to big to sleep with me. Our older dogs name is Briar. She is a hound mix. She is 11 years old and very very sweet but super shy. She is ultra fast even in her older years and loves to run and play. We have two cats. The orange one is named Henry and he is Avery's cat. He sleeps most of the day and plays most of the night. Milo is the little grey and white cat and he is super playful, a snuggle bug and we say he is Andrea's kitty but really he loves anyone that will pet and hold and love on him. The cats love to chase and wrestle with one another at night. Avery has two horses, Tropic who is an off the track throughbred and he is 15. He acts kind of like a giant dog. He knows a bunch of tricks Avery taught him, like smiling or how to hug and kiss. Telly is brand new. She is a baby, about 2, Avery bought her with her own money and will be teaching her everything she needs to know. Our last little critter is our guinea pig. Her name is Fiona and she loves treats.

Kaden attended a private Christian school from 5th grade up until he graduated this year. We were very involved in school activities, sports, coaching and class trips. Kaden was a 3 sport athlete. He played football, was on swim team and ran track. He graduated with honors and a 3.7 GPA. This next year he plans on taking a gap year, working for his dad in his business and possibly pursuing the opportunity to go into a YWAM program next year.

Avery attended the same private Christian school from 2nd grade until 7th grade and then decided to be homeschooled. She is in 10th grade this year. She participates in 4H, Pony Club, horse playdates and pretty much anything equestrian.

We attend Life Church of Salem weekly and are very involved.

When we aren't hanging out with friends or family we are busy working on this little farm.

Parenting Experience

We have been parents for 23 years (this year will be 24) and we love it. Both of our kids are very different in personality, sense of humor, hobbies and what they find fun and entertaining. We have had so much fun watching them grow up, develop into incredible young adults and it has been a joy to watch them develop skills in things they like. They are both very talented and determined.

We have 7 nice and nephews and we are also involved in their lives on a very regular basis. Having family trips all together is always a blast.

Dustin and I both seek out books to read about being better parents, coaching, developing our own personal skill sets, and homeschooling. We work to dive into always keeping a learning attitude and heart and to staying open to grown into the parents our kids need.

Support

We are really fortunate to have an amazing friend base that is excited and happy for us to enter this new chapter. They have heard us talking about it for years and they can't wait to see it unfold. We are surrounded by many friends that have already adopted both internationally and domestically, fostered and work with kids on a daily basis. They have all given their blessing and offered any help and support they can when and if we need it.

Our families play a big role too. Andrea's family lives about 45 minutes away and we see them about 1-2x a month for a family BBQ or get together. They are all supportive.

Dustin's family lives here in town so about 15 minutes away. Dustin and his brother own our business together so they see one another every day. Some of our nephews as well as my mother in law work at the office also, so they are in our daily lives. They are very supportive, always just a phone call away and excited for this next chapter.

Motivation to Adopt

When I was 12 years old I was prompted to adopt while listening to a missionary share some stories about children that had no families. I believe it was impressed upon me at that point that this would be something I would seek out in life. We have discussed it since the time we were married and the right time is now here.