A Family For Every Child
A Family For Every Child
Donate Now FAMILY LOGIN Contact Us
Facebook Twitter Linked In YouTube
 
Pinterest Instagram Blog

For further information, please call 877-343-2856 or email matching@afamilyforeverychild.org
Brandy and Joshua
Brandy and Joshua

Brandy and Joshua
Oregon

Basic Info

Brandy

Age: 32
Sex: Female
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian
Religion: None

Joshua

Age: 37
Sex: Male
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian
Religion: Christian

Child Preferences

Age: Infant to 5 years old
Sex: Male
Max Number of Children: 1
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian, African American, Asian, Native American, Hispanic, Pacific Islander


Special Needs the Family is Open To: Mild Physical/Medical Disability (Open to Discussion), Asthma, Drug Allergies, Environmental Allergies, Food Allergies, Defiant, Difficulty in Attaching, Difficulty Making Friends, Poor Social Skills, Stealing, Prenatal Drug Exposure, Speech Delays - Mild, Speech Delays - Moderate, Academically behind due to poor attendance, Has Behavior Problems in School, Mild Learning Disabilities, Severe Learning Disabilities, Speech or Language Impairment, One/Both Parents Diagnosed with Depression, One/Both Parents Have Alcohol Addiction, One/Both Parents Have Drug Addiction, Exposed to Domestic Violence, One/Both Parents Have Had a Mental Diagnosis, Child has had a disrupted adoption, Multiple Placements, ADHD, Diabetes, Depression, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, Reactive Attachment Disorder, Requires Counseling/Therapy, Willing to Maintain Contact via Mail with Bio Family, Willing to Maintain Contact with Past Foster Parents, Willing to Maintain Contact with Bio Grandparents & Other Relatives, Willing to Maintain Contact with Bio Siblings, Child Identifies as LGBT

Environment

State: Oregon
Neighborhood: Suburban
Residency:
Years Together: 10
Children in the Home: 1
Pet(s): Dog(s)

Work

Brandy

Occupation: ERSEA and Data Manager

Joshua

Occupation: Clinical Laboratory Scientist

Adoption Agency

Agency: A family for every child
Worker: Heather Raskin
Worker: heather@afamilyforeverychild.org
City: EUGENE
State: Oregon
Zip: 97402

Family Description

We have always wanted to share our love and our lives with children. We are fortunate to have been blessed with our daughter Arabelle but knew we need one more to complete our family. In this home you will also find two loving dogs named Cooper and Dylan along with Grandma and Pa just downstairs. When not working you can find this family enjoying time together either at the beach, fishing, crabbing, hiking, having dance parties, cooking together, having movie nights, and playing at the local parks. A typical day for us is Josh gets up at 4am for work, Brandy gets up at 5:30, Arabelle gets up at 6:30. Brandy gets Arabelle fed, dressed, and off to Miss Neans while Josh and Brandy go to work. Arabelle gets picked up at 4:30 from Miss Neans and then its home for dinner, play time, bath time, story and song time then off to bed. The weekends are our favorite time because we get to spend time as a family and enjoy doing something outside of the house. I think Arabelle's favorite part is that she gets to see Grandma and Pa every day and loves playing with them while mama cleans the house.

Preference Description

We are looking to adopt for a boy between the ages of 0 and 6 years old, of any ethnic background. We are willing to accept minor or medically correctable conditions, a child with special needs such as PTSD, attachment, learning, or developmental delays

The Cumberland Family

We would like to adopt a single child or sibling group of up to 3, newborn - 8 years old, of any ethnic heritage and/or either gender(although male is preferred).We would like the child/ren to be close in age to our current daughter Arabelle because we want that special sibling connection to grow. We are open to children with mild physical disabilities (we do have stairs in our home) and up to moderate behavioral and emotional issues. Children with intellectual abilities from delayed to above average and minor medical issues are also ones we feel confident we can accommodate.

The type of children that would fit best into our home are ones that like to give and receive hugs, enjoy activity, loves dogs and new adventures. Those that would also thrive in an environment with structure and routine would fit very well into our home. We enjoy family activities and spend a lot of time together and hope our children will enjoy this, as well.

We are a child-centered family who have a mutual respect for one another are stable not only in our individual lives, but in our relationship as well. We understand that the transition maybe difficult for a child, and that the child may feel a sense of loss and grief. We understand that the child may have connections to their biological family or foster parents that need to be supported. We will provide an environment that always allows our child/ren to feel safe and loved . We will be open and honest about adoption and will advocate for services needed. We understand that family counseling may be needed right away for transition, and they support any future counseling as the needs arise

Introduction

Our names are Josh and Brandy. I (Brandy) am 32 years young and Josh is 37. We have been together since 2008. We have a very fun, healthy, loving, and deeply committed relationship. We are best friends and playmates. We currently have a daughter named Arabelle who is 3 and two dogs; Dylan(8) and Cooper(6). Arabelle is more then excited to have a sibling and promises to share all her toys with them plus her mama and daddy. She is a very caring girl.

Josh works full-time as a Clinical Laboratory Scientist for Bay Area Hospital. He loves science and working in a lab. He is ambitious and energetic at work. While his schedule is more structured, than Brandy's, it is still family-friendly and can easily take time off, when needed. Brandy works full-time as the ERSEA and Data Manager for South Coast Head Start. She plans to grow with Head Start. Both of our employers know of our desire to adopt and are fully supportive. There would be no problem in adjusting our schedules to meet the needs of our future children, we also both would qualify for 6 weeks of leave.

We are a very child-centered family and enjoy participating in many different activities together. Some of our favorite things are dinner as a family, Friday night movie and pizza, dance parties during movie credits, blueberry picking, camping, swimming, going to the beach, fishing/crabbing, board games, arts & crafts, cooking projects, and reading. We love taking walks around the house or the nearby park with Arabelle and the dogs. We love spending time together as a family.

For many years we have wanted to have children. Our plan had always been to have at least two as we wanted our children to have that unique sibling bond. We feel that we are mentally, emotionally, physically, and financially prepared to become parents and welcome children into our lives forever.

Home and Community

We live in the small town of Coquille, just 20 minutes from Coos Bay/North Bend which is the big city around here. We are about 15 minutes from most beaches which is the best part of living where we do. We currently live in Josh's childhood home. It is a duplex and we live upstairs while Josh's parents live downstairs. We currently have two bedrooms upstairs and two downstairs. We have a fenced in backyard that already features age appropriate toys.

We are very lucky and have one our local parks basically behind our house. We are located right next to the Coquille Community Building which has two open gyms, a city park in the back, and the community pool. Our local school district serves preK-12 grade children.

Parenting Experience

We live a child-centered life and are excited to grow their family through adoption. We have a great deal of experience caring for our child, Arabelle, as well as many other children, including some with special needs. Brandy has worked in early childhood education for the last seven years, the last five of those with South Coast Head Start. Brandy has more experience and professional development hours then we could even list. She has dedicated her life to helping children and families grow together. We have a number if friends and family members who have children for whom we have provided care.

Support

We fully understand that adoption is a lifelong developmental process and understand the effect that trauma has on children and are fully prepared to love and care for, as well as advocate for our adopted children. Brandy has extensive experience working with children dealing with grief, loss and trauma; and they are both open to using counseling or training to help as needed.

Fortunate for us, Josh's parents live right downstairs. We have discussed the adoption at length with Colleen and Dan Cumberland and they are totally on board. Josh's mother and father have worked for the local school district for as long as we can remember.

Brandy works for South Coast Head Start, they are a comprehensive early childhood program that serves children and pregnant women of income eligible families throughout the Southern Oregon Coast. Through her work there, Brandy has taken several courses that apply to parenting an adopted child. Brandy has networked through her work with Head Start and has names and contact information of recommended therapists, specialists, dentists, doctors, schools and the like. Brandy also plans to use her co-workers as additional support as needed. We are more than comfortable with outside resources including adoption and mental health professionals.

Motivation to Adopt

We first talked about the idea of adoption many years ago when we first started dating. After struggling with infertility we knew this was our calling. We have always known we wanted children and knew there were so many children in foster care who are in need of the love, support, stability, education, family dinner time, snuggles, story time, movie nights, and family outings that we already provide in our home. We are well educated and prepared for the challenges ahead, while greeting the journey with excitement. We know it's not going to be easy, but we feel that the love we have and the strength of our relationship will allow us to create a loving, healthy and stable home environment for any child. We are resilient and tend to come together when things get hard for us. Not only do we ache to grow our family, we ache to care for a child in need of what we can provide. We have tremendous patience and understanding, especially for those who have experienced trauma. We are trauma informed, and we think it is important to continue education in all areas of adoption. We have one biological child now and we have already discussed as a couple many times how all of our children will be an equal part of our family. Our family will get involved in their heritage, embrace their culture, and make them a cohesive part of our family.