A Family For Every Child
A Family For Every Child
Donate Now FAMILY LOGIN Contact Us
Facebook Twitter Linked In YouTube
 
Pinterest Instagram Blog

For further information, please call 877-343-2856 or email matching@afamilyforeverychild.org
Randell and Kaaren
Randell and Kaaren

Randell and Kaaren
Oregon

Basic Info

Randell

Age: 44
Sex: Male
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian
Religion: Christian

Kaaren

Age: 47
Sex: Female
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian
Religion: Christian

Child Preferences

Age: Infant to 10 years old
Sex: Either
Max Number of Children: 3
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian, African American, Asian, Native American, Hispanic, Pacific Islander, Mixed, Bi-Racial, Unknown


Special Needs the Family is Open To: Any Child (Open to Discussion)

Environment

State: Oregon
Neighborhood: City/Urban
Residency:
Years Together: 18
Children in the Home: 0
Pet(s): Dog(s), cat(s), farm animal(s)

Work

Randell

Occupation: Teacher

Kaaren

Occupation: Teacher

Adoption Agency

Agency: A family for every child
Worker: Heather Raskin
Worker: heather@afamilyforeverychild.org
City: EUGENE
State: Oregon
Zip: 97402

Family Description

Currently, we live in Oregon and have 11 chickens, 2 dogs, and 1 outdoor cat. We attend a Christian fellowship in our neighborhood. In our free-time we enjoy hiking, rafting, biking, paddle boarding, quilting, gardening, traveling, reading books and spending time with family and friends.

Preference Description

We are looking to adopt a siblings between the ages of 0 to 10 years old, of any ethnic background. We are willing to accept minor or medically correctable conditions, a child with special needs such as PTSD, attachment, learning, or developmental delays.

Embertson Family Introduction

As public school teachers, who have had experienced first hand children in the foster care system, we understand that this journey will have its own challenges. With that said, we look forward inviting a sibling group into our home and meeting each child's individual needs. Both of us have close connections with our own family, including our siblings, and intend do everything possible to support family connections.

Randell was raised in the midwest and his family moved to Oregon when he was ten. He has a younger brother, two younger sisters, and great parents. The majority of the family and extended family all live on the west coast. Randell graduated from high school having played soccer, 4 years on the swim team, and received his Eagle Scout award in Boy Scouts. After high school he studied in Sweden; competed in college NCAA Crew and finished his Bachelor's degree at University.

Kaaren was raised on the beaches of Los Angeles, California. She has a younger brother and wonderful parents! Kaaren attended a private school (K-8) and graduated high school having played volleyball, basketball (CA State Champions), and track. After this she studied abroad in Australia, served in a college ministry, and finished her Bachelors degree at University.

We were married on Mother's Day of 2001. We have enjoyed 19 awesome years of marriage, family, friends, and adventures! We have toured the United States of America, lived in a college-coop for 3 years as houseparents, worked in the Middle East, and travel to see our 9 Godchildren (2 nieces; 2 nephews). We both completed our Masters and are K-12 teachers for an on-line school.

Child Preferences

Our child preferences are ages 0-10 with a sibling group of no more than three children. We do prefer to adopt a sibling group as we know how difficult it is to place children in the same home who are part of a sibling group. We have a clear understanding of the needs of children in care and want to honor sibling relationships.

We have movie night once a week. Our kiddos would have a preference of books and an interest in outdoor activities camping and kayaking. We would be best matched with a child who has a deep love of animals.

. If the children are from a different ethnicity, we will honor the children's heritage and we will welcome them into our home and community. We are open to contact with the children's biological and foster families; as is necessary and beneficial for the children.

Home and Community

Currently, we live in Oregon and have 11 chickens, 2 dogs, and 1 outdoor cat.

We attend a Christian fellowship in our neighborhood. We are involved in a number of different activities as our life blooms out of our faith in Jesus Christ. We regularly attend our community church and attend/host small home-group Bible studies.

In our free-time we enjoy hiking, rafting, biking, paddle boarding, quilting, gardening, traveling, reading books and spending time with family and friends. We enjoy traveling, eating ethnic foods, gardening/canning, cooking/ baking, arts & crafts, outdoor activities (walking, hiking, rivers, lakes, etc.), movie and game nights. We do not have a

TV and do not play video games (this is non-negotiable). Instead, we actively engage in business ventures, participate in our community, and create useful projects around the house.

Our 3-bedroom 2-bath home resides in a Southern Oregon community with a Mediterranean climate. We have a multitude of activities from outdoor music amphitheaters and ballet/dance studios to large outdoor soccer fields and a multitude of city parks. As public school teachers, we have knowledge of the best schools for children to participate. Kaaren was privy to a private school education and greatly attributes her present life to her solid upbringing. Therefore, private school is very much a possibility. If children are not of school-age, one or both of us will move to part-time to care for the children. We have several dear friends who are willing to watch our children for us to get away for a "date night".

Parenting Experience

We are career educators and have had years of experience in the classroom. We have cared for our friend's child for periods of time who has higher needs. We have clear boundaries, established routines, we are willing to seek out any support or services, including therapy, to support our children's development.

We both have parents who are happily married after 45+ years of marriage and have been and are still instrumental in all ways. Our families/siblings all enjoy spending time as a family and we see them often. Our parents disciplined us a little different but the ideals were very similar. Randell and I are both public school teachers and have worked with children (0-21 years) in various settings from kid camps to lifeguarding to houseparents of 50 college students. We are familiar with a variety of discipline styles and recognize that every child is not the same and will require a tweek of interaction to produce positive results in the child's behavior. Prayer, real world experience with children, education (bachelors and masters), yearly public school trainings, and books we have read, I believe, give us a well rounded environment to holistically raise children to not just survive but thrive and prosper as well equipped citizens of the United States of America.

Support

We are both teachers and have three months paid time off during the summer. During transition both of us would be able to take three additional paid time off months unless we are placed with children during the summer months.

Due to our extensive traveling, we have friends all around the globe and a friend base from a multitude of nationalities. Our primary support system is our family and grows from there to include friends from within the body of Christ. If we are lacking something the children need, we will seek out a solution that fits the child until the issue has been resolved.

Motivation to Adopt

We have always wanted to grow our hearts and our home with children. Our adoption journey has been planned for several years and we have been in the process since 2005 to find our children. We have been committed to finding our children and look forward to offering a safe and stable home.