A Family For Every Child
A Family For Every Child
Donate Now FAMILY LOGIN Contact Us
Facebook Twitter Linked In YouTube
 
Pinterest Instagram Blog

For further information, please call 877-343-2856 or email matching@afamilyforeverychild.org
Brittany and Charles
Brittany and Charles

Brittany and Charles
Oregon

Basic Info

Brittany

Age: 32
Sex: Female
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian
Religion: Christian

Charles

Age: 31
Sex: Male
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian
Religion: Christian

Child Preferences

Age: Infant to 12 years old
Sex: Either
Max Number of Children: 4
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian, African American, Asian, Native American, Hispanic, Pacific Islander, Mixed, Bi-Racial, Unknown


Special Needs the Family is Open To: Any Child

Environment

State: Oregon
Neighborhood: Country/Rural
Residency:
Years Together: 10
Children in the Home: 2
Pet(s): Dog(s), cat(s), farm animal(s)

Work

Brittany

Occupation: stay at home mom

Charles

Occupation: Sugar beet parent seed lead

Adoption Agency

Agency: A Family For Every Child
Worker: Melanie Messenger
City: Eugene
State: Oregon
Zip: 97402

Family Description

We are a family of 4, living on a mini farm in rural eastern oregon. Brittany is a stay at home mom to two kids, 5 and 4. Charles works full time in Agricultue. Our family enjoys many outdoor activities from camping to horse back riding. We are low key and quiet, but also like to stay busy and have meals and get togethers with family and friends.

Preference Description

We are looking to adopt a sibling set of 2 or 3, possibly 4, any gender and preferably under the age of 8-10. We are willing to accept minor to moderate behavior and medical conditions.

The Martin Family Profile

We would like to adopt a sibling group 2 to 4, ages 0-12 and of any ethnic background. We are willing to accept children with special needs, as well as minor to moderate behavior and medical conditions.

We hope to adopt a sibling set who loves the outdoors and having lots of room to run! We would love for them to enjoy camping, fishing, riding bikes and horses and preferring to be outdoors running and planning.

We feel it's important for kids to remain in contact with their previous connections and relationships, as long as it's in the best interest of the child. We would help them maintain important relations and ties to their past. We are willing to travel within Oregon from time to time too maintain these connections.

Introduction

Our names are Brittany and Charles Martin. I am currently 31 years old, Charles is currently 30 years old. We have 2 kids. Our children's names are Rylee and Connor and they are 5 and 4 years old, respectively.

We all enjoy outdoor activities such as camping, fishing, hiking, kayaking, horse back riding, and riding bikes. I am a stay-at-home parent and have a flexible schedule, so the kids and I spend our days irrigating, riding the pony, riding bikes, playing with the dogs and watching cartoons. We are all pretty laid back and are content to just hang out at home, as well. We are all home bodies, but enjoy getting out and about and we all love taking day trips places or going on mini overnight vacations. We all also love to go out to eat.

During the school year the kids go to speech therapy and we work on preschool activities at home. Grocery shopping is usually a whole family activity, as well as nightly meals and attending church. We generally have one meal a week with extended family.

I love to be outdoors and most of my time is spent there (as long as it's not too cold!). Every year I grow a vegetable garden, have flowers and keep the yard maintained. We try to find time on most nice weather days to ride the pony and horses, and I also do my best to get in a dog training session (herding sheep). Winter time we spend mostly indoors, but late winter/ early spring we start having lambs, so we're back to being outside a lot.

Rylee and Connor love the dirt. Most of their outdoor time is spent digging holes, filling buckets with dirt and water and jumping on the trampoline. They also love to ride the pony and to swim or play in the sprinklers. Rylee is a nurturing caregiver type. She is very thoughtful and caring of others, and has a very tender heart. She calls herself a cowgirl princess, which is a perfect description of her! She's a tough, horse loving girl who loves all things princess. Connor is "all boy". He is rough and tumble and plays hard and loud, but also has a quiet snuggly side.

Charles enjoys kayaking and farm work. He does a lot of the winter time feeding and irrigating in the summer. He's a researcher too and can get quite consumed reading about something new and trying to find out all about it.

Charles works full-time in Agriculture as a lead for parent seed for sugar beets. He works from home in our basement. He often does the bedtime routine for the kids, giving baths and reading bedtime stories. A favorite activity for him and thekids to do together is making cookies!

Home and Community

We live in rural eastern Oregon on 14 acres. We have irrigation to make hay and grow pasture grass for our sheep and horses. We have two horse and one pony. We have 3 border collies, (two trained, or being trained to work the sheep), and a rat terrier. We have two barn cats, but Aztec likes to spend much of his time indoors and with us. We have 27 sheep at our house and the rest are in a nearby town where they get milked.

Hermiston is a small, farming community. There is a strong sense of community here with Lot of support for the schools, sports in the schools and 4-H and FFA programs for the fair. Living right be a river there are many activities to do from fishing to boating.

Although we are on acreage and farm, we are still within 2 miles of the grade school, middle school and high school. We are close to a city that provides many activities and about 3 hours from Portland, Oregon where there is the zoo, OMSI, a children's museum and many other things to do.

Parenting Experience

Our experience with children is mainly from parenting our two children. Charles has some younger cousins he grew up with as well.

I have spent a lot of time with children. I have worked in the church nursery as a middle school student, in high school I did cross age tutoring in the grade school working in the 5th/6th grade classroom and I also helped lead dog 4-H. I did some babysitting here and there and after my senior year of high school I spent the summer working at a Bible camp as a wrangler teaching kids to ride horses. I currently babysit a one year old little girl in the afternoons on occasion.

Support

We have a lot of support from family on both sides and friends who we've known since college. Some of Our friends have adopted from foster care and have already shown love and support and are always happy to answer questions we may have. We have a lot of family that live in the same town as us who are more than willing to help with our kids, household and animals if/ when needed.

Our family and friends would be there for anything we would need help with. We are in an area that is close to other larger cities where numerous services and supports are available.

Motivation to Adopt

Our new family will be our forever family and we will seek they support and services we need to make it work. We are motivated and driven to seek out the resources needed to help our children thrive and are willing to travel some if needed.