A Family For Every Child
A Family For Every Child
Donate Now FAMILY LOGIN Contact Us
Facebook Twitter Linked In YouTube
 
Pinterest Instagram Blog

For further information, please call 877-343-2856 or email matching@afamilyforeverychild.org
Scott and Chris
Scott and Chris

Scott and Chris
Oregon

Basic Info

Scott

Age: 32
Sex: Male
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian
Religion: Jewish

Chris

Age: 40
Sex: Male
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian
Religion: Christian

Child Preferences

Age: Infant to 8 years old
Sex: Either
Max Number of Children: 2
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian, African American, Asian, Native American, Hispanic, Pacific Islander


Special Needs the Family is Open To: Mild Physical/Medical Disability, Asthma, Drug Allergies, Environmental Allergies, Food Allergies, Defiant, Difficulty in Attaching, Difficulty Making Friends, Lying, Manipulative, Poor Social Skills, Stealing, Tantrums-Severe, Wets the Bed, Drug Addicted at Birth, Low Birth Weight or Premature, Prenatal Drug Exposure, Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Physically Disabled-Mild, Hearing Impaired, Speech Delays - Mild, Vision Impaired, Anorexia/Bulimia, Hoarding, Overeating, Academically behind due to poor attendance, Cognitive Delay - Mild, Has Behavior Problems in School, Mild Learning Disabilities, Moderate Learning Disabilities, Speech or Language Impairment, One/Both Parents Diagnosed with Depression, One/Both Parents Diagnosed with Schizophrenia, One/Both Parents Have Alcohol Addiction, One/Both Parents Have Drug Addiction, One/Both Parents Diagnosed with Bipolar, Exposed to Domestic Violence, One/Both Parents Have Had a Mental Diagnosis, Child in Residential Treatment, Child has had a disrupted adoption, Multiple Placements, Residential Treatment History, ADHD, Arthritis, Diabetes, Hemophilia, Adjustment Disorder, Depression, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, Requires Counseling/Therapy, Willing to Maintain Contact via Mail with Bio Family, Willing to Maintain Contact with Past Foster Parents, Willing to Maintain Contact with Bio Grandparents & Other Relatives, Willing to Maintain Contact with Bio Siblings, Child Identifies as LGBT, History of Sexually Acting Out, Sexually Abused in the Past, Sexually Active

Environment

State: Oregon
Neighborhood: Country/Rural
Residency:
Years Together: 5
Children in the Home: 0
Pet(s): None

Work

Scott

Occupation: Architectural visualizer

Chris

Occupation: VP, Operations Manager

Adoption Agency

Agency: A Family For Every Child
Worker: Heather Raskin
Worker: heather@afamilyforeverychild.org
City: Eugene
State: Oregon
Zip: 97402

Family Description

Chris and Scott were inseparable the moment they met. They both enjoy being silly, and staying young at heart. Over the years they have created a home and life for themselves and now they are ready to expand their family. Chris and Scott balance each other out with their personalities and support each other with their compassion and strive to bring that same balance, support and love to children of their own.

Preference Description

We hope to adopt a child or siblings between the ages of 2 and 8 yrs. old. We are seeking a child of any background with minor to moderate developmental disabilities, including attachment, learning, or developmental delays but with no serious disability.

The Grady-Luton Family Profile

We are looking for a child who is 7 years old or younger. We are open to any race or ethnic background. We can accommodate one to two children. We are open to children who may have special needs. Specifically, We're looking to adopt a single child or siblings between the ages of 2-7 yrs. old. We are an active family and would b seeking a child who has a good sense of adventure who is willing to stay active with us. Our child could be of any background with minor developmental disabilities, including attachment, learning, or developmental delays but with no serious disability. We value the unique differences of our own backgrounds and would want our child to know that their culture will also be valued and incorporated into our lives. We will work to maintain previous relationships in our child's life as long as those relationships are healthy and in the best interest of our child.

Introduction

Our names are Scott Grady and Chris Luton. Scott is 31 and Chris is 40 years young. We do not yet have any children, but can't wait to find our forever child. We are an adventurous couple who enjoys, home improvement, travel, hiking, kayaking, camping, board and video games, spending time with friends and family and participating in our local community. Scott is a creative type who works for an Architect firm as a visual designer. Chris works full-time as a Call Center Manager for a financial institution. We both work Monday - Friday, 8-5pm. We make the most of our weekends, either by taking a trip the beach or finding a local event to enjoy, such as the Zoo, a park, or enjoy going out for concert. Chris enjoys cooking and arts and crafts, while Scott tends to love working on larger home improvement projects such as building a deck, creating a rock wall or landscaping. We have a good balance and try our best to spend quality downtime together.

Home and Community

We live in Happy Valley, Oregon, not too far from Clackamas Town Center and a short drive into Downtown Portland. We have a stand alone single family home with a big yard in a forested area. We enjoy the sounds of nature and a small creek that surrounds part of our property in the spring and fall. We currently don't have any pets, but have had animals in the past and will plan to add another pet to our home in the future when the time is right and our children are ready for the added responsibility. Our community is a bit rural and semi-suburban. We are right in-between the Clackamas School District and Happy Valley School District. Happy Valley and North Clackamas have wonderful Parks and Recreational areas for our kids to explore with us.

Parenting Experience

We are currently a family without children. We have many family members and friends who have young children, from newly born to age 10. We spend a lot of our weekends and free time engaging with friends and family and have been able to build close relationships with the kids in our life. As parents we plan to provide opportunities for our children. Our dream is to provide love and support so that they can pursue their dreams. We will approach our issues and concerns as a team. We will love and nurture our children and guide them to be the best person they can be to the best of their abilities. We constantly gain insight from other parents and keep connected to other families that have adopted and try our best to gather knowledge from their experiences. alongside the state mandated requirement we keep ourselves updated with parenting books and social media to immerse ourselves with groups and contacts that focus on adoption and parenting.

Support

We have many close friends with families of their own who are ready and able to support us when and if needed. Chris's Mom lives fairly close and will be available for support. We both have the ability for flexible work schedules that will allow us the ability to support each other. Chris also has the opportunity to work from home as needed to ensure we are meeting the needs of our family. Our Grandma Karen visits often and will be a supportive person for us. As a single Mother, Grandma Karen, raised two great boys on her own and is a grandmother to three boys from her son and is also a grandmother to 5 other children with her husbands family. Scott has a close friend, Yvette, who is a wonderful mother, who is currently raising a 8 year old on her own. She has been a good mentor for us and we spend time with her and her family. We are proponents of counseling and therapy and have a counselor that we see every other week for support. We use counseling as a platform to enhance our family. When we have kids we feel keeping counseling in our lives will help us to be successful parents.

Motivation to Adopt

We've been talking about building a family from fairly early on in our relationship. Once we were married we knew it was the next step for us. We are committed to growing our family and looking forward to the challenges it brings. We know it's not going to be easy, but we feel that the love we have and the strength of our relationship will allow us to create a loving, healthy and stable home environment for any child. There will be moments where we will need to ask for help and we feel we have the family, friends and resources to help us in times of need. We are resilient and tend to come together when things get hard for us. We aren't the kind of couple to run when things get difficult. Respect and care for each other will be the key to our success with our family.