A Family For Every Child
A Family For Every Child
Donate Now FAMILY LOGIN Contact Us
Facebook Twitter Linked In YouTube
 
Pinterest Instagram Blog

For further information, please call 877-343-2856 or email matching@afamilyforeverychild.org
Greta
Greta

Greta
Oregon

Basic Info

Greta

Age: 51
Sex: Female
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian
Religion: Christian

Child Preferences

Age: Infant to 4 years old
Sex: Either
Max Number of Children: 2
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian, African American, Asian, Native American, Hispanic, Pacific Islander, Mixed, Bi-Racial


Special Needs the Family is Open To: Moderate Physical/Medical Disability (Open to Discussion), Animal Allergies, Asthma, Drug Allergies, Environmental Allergies, Food Allergies, Physically Aggressive to Other Children, Defiant, Difficulty Making Friends, Poor Social Skills, Wets the Bed, Failure to Thrive, Prenatal Drug Exposure, Gastric Tube, Requires Life-long Medical Treatment, Requires Life-long Supervision, Non-Ambulatory, Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Physically Disabled-Mild, Hearing Impaired, Intellectual Disability - Mild, Intellectual Disability - Moderate, Speech Delays - Mild, Speech Delays - Moderate, Speech Delays - Severe, Vision Impaired, Anorexia/Bulimia, Hoarding, Overeating, Academically behind due to poor attendance, Cognitive Delay - Mild, Cognitive Delay - Severe, Expulsion(s), Has Behavior Problems in School, Mild Learning Disabilities, Moderate Learning Disabilities, Severe Learning Disabilities, Speech or Language Impairment, One/Both Parents Diagnosed with Depression, One/Both Parents Have Alcohol Addiction, One/Both Parents Have Drug Addiction, Exposed to Domestic Violence, One/Both Parents Have Had a Mental Diagnosis, Child has had a disrupted adoption, Multiple Placements, Limited Life Expectancy Due to Illness, ADHD, Cerebral Palsy, Down Syndrome, Heart Disorder: May Require Surgery, Missing Limbs: May Require Prosthesis, Depression, Requires Medication For Psychiatric Condition/Mental Health Diagnosis, Requires Counseling/Therapy, Willing to Maintain Contact via Mail with Bio Family, Willing to Maintain Contact with Past Foster Parents, Willing to Maintain Contact with Bio Grandparents & Other Relatives, Willing to Maintain Contact with Bio Siblings, Sexually Abused in the Past

Environment

State: Oregon
Neighborhood: Suburban
Residency:
Children in the Home: 4
Pet(s): Dog(s), cat(s), farm animal(s)

Work

Greta

Occupation: RN

Adoption Agency

Agency: AFFEC
Worker: Lyndsie Wynn
Worker: lyndsie@afamilyforeverychild.org
City: Eugene
State: Oregon
Zip: 97402

Family Description

We are a multi-cultural family that is hoping to adopt a younger brother or sister with Down syndrome. Typical and quiet are not words that are commonly used to describe our family. We enjoy playing together and just hanging out. A lot of folks may call it chaos . . . we call it family.

Preference Description

I would like to adopt a young child with Down syndrome.

The Willems- Family Profile

I would like to adopt a young boy with Down syndrome Almost any ethnic background will blend in with my family.

Introduction

My name is Greta Willems . I am 51 years old. I have 4 boys. Three joined the family through adoption and the other gentleman arrived through foster care but we now have permanent guardianship. I have a two year old foster son and the plan is for him to move to his grandparents later this year. My children's names are Michael (16), Jontae (15), Jack (12), and Ethan (5). My children are of different ethnicities. With all these boys, we usually have some kind of activity going on.

I work three 12 hour shifts a week in labor and delivery at St Charles Medical Center.

Home and Community

We live in Bend, Oregon in a single family home in an older neighborhood. We have two dogs, Blitz and Chewbacca. Our cat is named Elsa. We also have a leopard gecko named Simba and are fostering a bearded dragon named George. We have several schools within a few mile radius. My boys are involved in several activities, including youth group, archery, Special Olympics, and Unified sports.

Parenting Experience

I started doing foster care about 17 years ago. I took a hiatus after Jack came home. Several years ago, I was asked to take in my oldest son's biological half brother and sister until they could be reunified with their father. Due to all her trauma and mental health issues, I did not feel capable of parenting their sister but Jontae joined our family at that time. While reunification did not happen, we continue to have a relationship with Jontae's dad. Since it had been over 5 years since I had a child placed in my home, I needed to retake Foundations. I decided to start doing foster care again at that time. My boys all have special needs. Between foster care, being a nurse, and our local disability support network, I have been to a lot of conferences on dealing with different abilities and issues. I have also learned to be pretty savvy at getting the services that my boys may need.

Support

Friends, family, church family. They all support my family. They are wonderful. Here in Bend, we are also very blessed to have several agencies and groups that help families with kiddos of different abilities. We participate in conferences and activities through Central Oregon Disability Support Network (CODSN). Our Parks and Rec has the option of participating in special programs or programs for typical kids (but with a helper). We also have equine therapy at Healing Reins. Our Early Intervention and Life Skills programs are also top notch.

Motivation to Adopt

From the time I was a kid, I dreamed of a big family. The difference between me and my friends is that my kids had various disabilities and were different races. I babysat a couple of kids with Down syndrome so I have always had a special place in heart for them. I don't go into this lightly. I know there will be extra work but there will also be extra blessings.