A Family For Every Child
A Family For Every Child
Donate Now FAMILY LOGIN Contact Us
Facebook Twitter Linked In YouTube
 
Pinterest Instagram Blog

For further information, please call 877-343-2856 or email matching@afamilyforeverychild.org
olga and mitchell
olga and mitchell

olga and mitchell
New York

Basic Info

olga

Age: 56
Sex: Female
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian
Religion: Jewish

mitchell

Age: 68
Sex: Male
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian
Religion: Jewish

Child Preferences

Age: 5 to 12 years old
Sex: Either
Max Number of Children: 2
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian, Hispanic


Special Needs the Family is Open To: Mild Physical/Medical Disability (Open to Discussion)

Environment

State: New York
Neighborhood: City/Urban
Residency: Apartment
Years Together: 11
Children in the Home: 0
Pet(s): None

Work

olga

Occupation: physical therapist

mitchell

Occupation: physician

Adoption Agency

Agency: mercyfirst
Worker: Juanita Padilla
City: Brooklyn
State: New York
Zip: 11219

Preference Description

We are looking to adopting a girl or a boy or siblings of two between the ages of 5 and 12 years old, of caucasian or white hispanic background. We are willing to accept minor or medically correctable conditions but with no serious permanent disability.

The shadova-rosell Family Profile

We are interested in adopting a girl or boy between the ages of 5 and 12 years old inclusive. We prefer to adopt a child of Hispanic or Caucasian ethnic background. We would be willing to adopt a child with mild special needs, asthma, allergies, and poor vision. We are willing to accept minor or medically correctable conditions but with no serious permanent disability.

Introduction

I work full-time as a self-employed physical therapist and my partner works part-time as a self-employed physician. We both have flexible work schedules so we can schedule our work around the child's needs. We enjoy going to Broadway shows, listening to classical music, watching movies, and participating in social activities at our community center. We do physical activities and sports, such as volleyball and tennis, at our local gym. We also enjoy watching figure skating. We like to go to concerts and exhibitions at museums. We are interested in world events and world history. On weekends, we get together with our friends for social activities. During the summer we like to travel and visit interesting places. We are looking forward to having a child to enjoy these interests with.

Home and Community

We live in an apartment in an urban neighborhood of New York. There are a lot of high quality schools in the area that would work with a child's needs. There's also a lot of counseling and medical services in the area. There are many parks, beaches, and playgrounds around our home that are easy to get to. There are community centers and family activity centers that hold events. There are childcare services in the area as well.

Parenting Experience

We have both had training with Mercy First to help us learn about adopting a child. We watch Webinars about adoption and child illnesses related to foster care. In our professions, my husband and I have treated children with medical problems and learning disorders. We often babysit for family and friends and have received a lot of experience from that.

Support

We have many friends in the area that are willing to provide support and child care. They often give us advice on raising children. We also have extended family that are happy to help us with raising a child and provide support for us. My parents live in the area and provide a lot of emotional support and guidance. We are also very close to our neighbors.

Motivation to Adopt

We don't have any biological children and are getting older so we want to adopt an older child so that we can pass on something to the next generation. We are very committed to providing a child with a loving home, a great education, and a bright future.