A Family For Every Child
A Family For Every Child
Donate Now FAMILY LOGIN Contact Us
Facebook Twitter Linked In YouTube
 
Pinterest Instagram Blog

For further information, please call 877-343-2856 or email matching@afamilyforeverychild.org
Linda and Peter
Linda and Peter

Linda and Peter
New York

Basic Info

Linda

Age: 51
Sex: Female
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian
Religion: Catholic

Peter

Age: 57
Sex: Male
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian
Religion: Catholic

Child Preferences

Age: 3 to 12 years old
Sex: Either
Max Number of Children: 2
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian, Hispanic


Special Needs the Family is Open To: Any Child

Environment

State: New York
Neighborhood: Suburban
Residency:
Years Together: 12
Children in the Home: 0
Pet(s): Dog(s)

Work

Linda

Occupation: Operations Manager

Peter

Occupation: Engineer

Adoption Agency

Agency: Adoption Unit-Westchester DSS
Worker: Yvette Daqui, SSCW
Worker: yvette.daqui@dfa.state.ny.us
City: White Plains
State: New York
Zip: 10601

Family Description

We have always wanted to add children to our family and when confronted with infertility we realized that adoption was the pathway for us to build our family. We are patient and stable and can provide a structured and loving home to either a single child or sibling pair. We have flexible work schedules and have very strong support from our family and friends. Our community has many opportunities available to facilitate education and therapeutic needs which will allow for a child to thrive.

Preference Description

We would like to adopt a child with a mild or moderate disability in any or all of the following realms: physical/ medical, emotional, behavioral, developmental and learning.

Introduction

Hi! We are Peter and Linda McIntyre. We met when Peter was doing computer consulting work for the company that Linda was working for at the time. We identify as 'Team McIntyre', which is very important to us. We discuss any issues that arise as a team. We share common goals for our family. We were married on August 27, 2005 in Ossining, NY.

We have a 10 year old dog named Roxy that we adopted when she was 3 yrs old. Roxy is a puggle (half pug & half beagle) and a loved member of our family. Roxy is gentle with children, healthy and current on all immunizations.

We have many activities that we enjoy pursuing together, including bicycling, walking our dog, hiking, swimming, outdoor movies at our home in the summer, camping, and attending family\friend gatherings. We also raise funds for the Westchester SPCA. Peter enjoys running his model trains and playing video games on the computer. Linda enjoys painting with oil paints and is also involved with community theater.

We are both Christians who were raised as Roman Catholics. We have been members for over ten years at St. Augustines church in Ossining, NY. We attend church regularly on holidays and special events. We will respect whatever religious and/or cultural traditions our newly adopted child may have and are open to incorporating our adopted child's religion into our home if it were different from ours.

Child Preferences

We are hoping to adopt a child, male or female, between the ages of 3 - 12, or a sibling pair of two children of Caucasian, Hispanic or unknown descent. We are willing to consider the placement of a child with a mild or moderate disability in any or all of the following realms: physical/ medical, emotional, behavioral, developmental and learning.

Motivation to Adopt

We have always wanted to add children to our family. We have been researching adoption for a long time and have pursued previous adoption matches without success. We felt that although there are many people hoping to adopt a baby, there are far fewer families willing to adopt older children, who are just as much in need of families. Peter feels strongly that adoption from foster care will provide a home for a child in need while helping us build our family. Linda feels that we want to be part of a childs overall development as we build our family. We are open to adopting a sibling group, as we know that it can be harder for siblings to find homes together and we believe that children, especially adopted children, benefit from growing up with a sibling. We are able to provide a safe, stable and loving home to a child or children in need of one. We are excited to be on the adoption journey and are very much looking forward to welcoming a son or daughter or two children by adoption into our lives.

Further, factors that have provided our motivation are:Linda's grandfather was adopted. We have several friends who are adopted. Of these friends we have a few that, as adults, have reunited with their biological families. We have had the pleasure of being apart of these reunifications.

Parenting Experience

Linda worked as a behavioral health counselor at a residential treatment facility that focused on the evaluation, prevention, diagnosis and treatment of mental, emotional and behavioral health issues. During her tenure, she was training to be their relaxation therapist and was one of the go to counselors to assist with suicide watches for patients (members they were called). We taught/practiced daily living skills to all members.

Linda has also completed Reiki 1 practitioner training and practices mindfulness and mediates regularly. I enjoy doing morning Yoga before work. Not all the time but when I can I will. I have been known to walk friends and family through deep breathing exercises to calm down. I believe there are many connections to our mental and physical well being that can benefit from healthy eating instead of medication and what I mention above with meditation, and activity overall.

We both advocate for getting fresh air and movement and understand the benefits to a good walk and keeping active.

Although we have never parented a child of our own, we have watched our nieces and nephews grow up and have been a loving aunt and uncle to them. We have also on many occasions babysat our friends children. We are involved in activities and support each of our nieces and nephews as they have grown. We attend sports events, scouts and scholastic activities, dance recitals, prom photo opportunities and plays as well as have been baby sitters for longer durations than a few hours or an evening. We are also transportation providers and emergency contacts when needed. We are God parents to a few children and as the children have grown, we've been asked to be their confirmation sponsors.

Peter believes that he will be a good parent because he has a nurturing and constructive attitude with children. He has a generally optimistic nature and puts a positive spin on most situations that arise. Linda believes that she will be a good parent because of her qualities of being patient, empathetic and open-minded. She feels that she has a level head and good judgment.

We do not believe in corporal punishment and physical discipline. We believe children benefit most from positive reinforcement, seeing positive adult role models and having self-esteem built up with praise.

We have completed the ten week/30 hour MAPP/GPS II Program through Westchester County Department of Social Services. The program uses 10 group sessions with other prospective foster and/ or adoptive parents in order to assess, develop and enhance the 12 core skills needed for successful foster and/ or adoptive parenting.

Since our MAPP training, we have joined a local adoption organization named Adoptive Parents Committee Hudson/CT of which they host seminars and support groups. We have also attended additional training's each per year to maintain our certification status with Westchester County, which included: ADHD; CPR; Trauma; Special Ed 101 - IEPs; Addiction; Open Adoption; Legal; and Understanding Adoption at Different Ages & Stages.

Support

We both come from large families. Linda is the youngest of four siblings. All of her siblings live nearby and are excited to add a niece or nephew to the family by adoption. Linda's mother is also supportive of Linda and Peter's adoption plan and excited to add another grandchild to the family by adoption.

Peter is the oldest of three children. He has selected his youngest brother and his husband as the back up guardians for their child. Peter's siblings and his Mother are all aware and supportive of Peter and Linda's adoption plan.

Home and Community

We keep ourselves informed by maintaining our membership with a local Adoptive Parents Committee and through them we attend scheduled meetings and their annual Adoptive Parents Committee Conference. We also attend other courses/webinars and read current publications. We both have read Dr. Perry's booklet, "Helping Traumatized Children, A Brief Overview for Caregivers." We are registered for the webinar "Trauma Informed Care--Perspective Shift & Regulation" and are currently reading "The Kazdin Method for Parenting the Defiant Child", by Alan E. Kazdin, Ph.D.

We live in a gray split level ranch house on an acre of land. There are four bedrooms, three bathrooms, living room, dining room, kitchen, home office, spacious family room and full garage. The entire home is nicely and interestingly decorated and filled with family photographs, Linda's paintings and mementos. The rear of the house has a deck and a large grassy back yard surrounded by woods. The house and property are kept neat and clean. There are smoke and carbon monoxide detectors throughout the home.

Our home is located in the quiet suburban hamlet of Yorktown Heights, New York. This community comprises mainly single-family homes. Our home is located in a historic section of the town in which several of the homes were built in the 1700s. Our neighborhood has many cul-de-sacs, including the one formed by our street. There is an active Neighborhood Association with holiday and seasonal activities and social events. The nearby town has all shopping needs, as well as restaurants and a post office. Nearby amenities include the Muscoot farm and other farms, as well as parks and fields. The local public schools have excellent services for children with varied educational needs. There are many children in the neighborhood and plenty of safe outdoor space in which to play.