A Family For Every Child
A Family For Every Child
Donate Now FAMILY LOGIN Contact Us
Facebook Twitter Linked In YouTube
 
Pinterest Instagram Blog

For further information, please call 877-343-2856 or email matching@afamilyforeverychild.org
Laura and Stephen
Laura and Stephen

Laura and Stephen
Oregon

Basic Info

Laura

Age: 32
Sex: Female
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian
Religion: None

Stephen

Age: 31
Sex: Male
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian
Religion: None

Child Preferences

Age: Infant to 12 years old
Sex: Either
Max Number of Children: 2
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian, African American, Asian, Native American, Hispanic, Pacific Islander, Mixed, Bi-Racial, Unknown


Special Needs the Family is Open To: Any Child (Open to Discussion), Asthma, Drug Allergies, Environmental Allergies, Food Allergies, Difficulty in Attaching, Difficulty Making Friends, Poor Social Skills, Prenatal Drug Exposure, Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Speech Delays - Mild, Academically behind due to poor attendance, Mild Learning Disabilities, One/Both Parents Diagnosed with Depression, One/Both Parents Have Alcohol Addiction, Exposed to Domestic Violence, One/Both Parents Have Had a Mental Diagnosis, Child has had a disrupted adoption, ADHD, Cancer, Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, Requires Counseling/Therapy, Willing to Maintain Contact via Mail with Bio Family, Willing to Maintain Contact with Past Foster Parents, Willing to Maintain Contact with Bio Grandparents & Other Relatives, Willing to Maintain Contact with Bio Siblings, Child Identifies as LGBT

Environment

State: Oregon
Neighborhood: Suburban
Residency:
Years Together: 4
Children in the Home: 1
Pet(s): Dog(s), cat(s)

Work

Laura

Occupation: Social Media Manager and Campaign Lead

Stephen

Occupation: Heavy Equipment Operator

Adoption Agency

Agency: A Family For Every Child
Worker: Megan Anderson
Worker: megan@afamilyforeverychild.org
City: Eugene
State: Oregon
Zip: 97402

Family Description

Laura and Stephen Killgore were married in 2016 after 3 years of dating. Mom, Laura, has a background in early childhood education and was a lead preschool teacher for 10 years. After having their daughter, Adaline in June 2018, Laura began working from home for the nonprofit 2020 Mom, TheBlueDotProject, and Mom Congress. She enjoys working flexible hours and for a company that values family. Stephen has a drafting degree from ITT Tech and currently works as a heavy equipment operator for Knife River. He absolutely loves being a dad and as soon as he gets home he dives into cooking dinner and spending quality time with Adaline. Adaline, in a nutshell, is a Disney princess who plays in the mud! She is very eager to be a big sister and have a lifelong buddy. Adoption has been something we have talked about long before getting married and now feels like the right time to expand our family.

Preference Description

One to two children between the ages of one and twelve, of either gender, any ethnicity/cultural background, with mild or moderate behavioral, physical, and emotional needs.

The Killgore Family Profile

We would like to adopt a child and are open to boys or girls. We feel we can accommodate a sibling group of up to 2 kids. Almost any ethnic background will blend in with our family. We are open to children with special needs.

Introduction

Our names are Laura and Stephen Killgore. We are both 31 years old and have one bio child, Adaline. Adaline is 2 years old.

Stephen and Laura were married in 2016 and have been a couple since 2013.

Laura is a stay-at-home parent and has a flexible work schedule. She works for a non-profit that focuses on closing the gaps in maternal mental health. Stephen works full-time for Knife River as a Heavy Equipment Operator.

Home and Community

We live in Southern Oregon in a 3 bedroom, 2.5 bath home. Our family includes two dogs and one cat. Our home is within walking distance of a large park and splash pad that is the perfect place to cool off during the summer months. Our street is lined with mature trees that are stunning in the fall months.

We have several neighborhood friends with young children, perfect for socially distance play dates at the park or walks around the neighborhood.

We are members of a local children's museum that unfortunately has not been open due to COVID and we are eager to get back to our weekly outings to the museum.

We are a 20 min drive from Laura's parents who are very involved and supportive grandparents.

Parenting Experience

Laura has a background in early childhood education and development she has worked closely with children who require special needs.

Both parents have CPR/First Aid- both parents Abuse and Neglect Training. Laura has 21 ECE Credits and done ongoing training as an early childhood educator.

Support

Our family is fortunate to have some local family and friends to support us during our adoption search. Laura's parents love being grandparents so much so they recently bought a minivan in anticipation of needing more space for grandchildren. Laura's brother is local and loves being an uncle.

Motivation to Adopt

Adoption has always been something both Stephen and Laura have thought about as an option for expanding their family. After struggles with conceiving, a traumatic birth/labor, and postpartum depression, they decided adoption is the best option for them. They are very excited to provide a loving and safe space for a child(ren) to call home.