A Family For Every Child
A Family For Every Child
Donate Now FAMILY LOGIN Contact Us
Facebook Twitter Linked In YouTube
 
Pinterest Instagram Blog

For further information, please call 877-343-2856 or email matching@afamilyforeverychild.org
Hillary and Chris
Hillary and Chris

Hillary and Chris
Oregon

Basic Info

Hillary

Age: 38
Sex: Female
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian
Religion: Baptist

Chris

Age: 38
Sex: Male
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian
Religion: Baptist

Child Preferences

Age: Infant to 12 years old
Sex: Either
Max Number of Children: 4
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian, African American, Asian, Native American, Hispanic, Pacific Islander, Mixed, Bi-Racial


Special Needs the Family is Open To: Any Child (Open to Discussion), Animal Allergies, Asthma, Drug Allergies, Environmental Allergies, Food Allergies, Defiant, Difficulty Making Friends, Lying, Manipulative, Poor Social Skills, Wets the Bed, Drug Addicted at Birth, Failure to Thrive, Low Birth Weight or Premature, Prenatal Drug Exposure, Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Physically Disabled-Mild, Hearing Impaired, Speech Delays - Mild, Speech Delays - Moderate, Vision Impaired, Anorexia/Bulimia, Hoarding, Overeating, Academically behind due to poor attendance, Cognitive Delay - Mild, Has Behavior Problems in School, Mild Learning Disabilities, Moderate Learning Disabilities, Speech or Language Impairment, Suspension(s), One/Both Parents Diagnosed with Depression, One/Both Parents Diagnosed with Schizophrenia, One/Both Parents Have Alcohol Addiction, One/Both Parents Have Drug Addiction, One/Both Parents Diagnosed with Bipolar, Exposed to Domestic Violence, One/Both Parents Have Had a Mental Diagnosis, Child in Residential Treatment, Child has had a disrupted adoption, Multiple Placements, Residential Treatment History, ADHD, Arthritis, Diabetes, Adjustment Disorder, Bipolar Disorder, Conduct Disorder, Depression, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, Requires Medication For Psychiatric Condition/Mental Health Diagnosis, Requires Counseling/Therapy, Runaway - Past, Willing to Maintain Contact via Mail with Bio Family, Willing to Maintain Contact with Past Foster Parents, Willing to Maintain Contact with Bio Grandparents & Other Relatives, Willing to Maintain Contact with Bio Siblings, Sexually Abused in the Past

Environment

State: Oregon
Neighborhood: Suburban
Residency:
Years Together: 15
Children in the Home: 3
Pet(s): None

Work

Hillary

Occupation:

Chris

Occupation: CEO/Founder

Adoption Agency

Agency: A Family For Every Child
Worker: Megan Anderson
Worker: megan@afamilyforeverychild.org
City: Eugene
State: Oregon
Zip: 97402

Family Description

We are Hillary, Chris, Elias, Adah, and Eden, and we can't wait to add to that name list! We are a Jesus-loving, making-up-silly-songs-on-spot-singing, goofy, loud, bookworm-y, adventurous, animal-loving,got-your-back- always kind of family. We CAN also be grumpy, impatient, irritable, snippy and snarky (hopefully not all of us at the same time), but those days do not rule in our home. We strive for joy, laughter, serving each other and those around us. We love one another fiercely, and we believe that that love is what makes us family--not DNA, physical traits, or cultural backgrounds. Friends are important to us, our community is important to us, Friday Family Movie Night is VERY important to us (read: we like an excuse to eat junk food), and most of all, our faith is important to us. All that we do, all that we try to be for ourselves and each other, comes from that faith and love of God. We are all so ready to welcome the next additions to our family--we are not complete without them!

Preference Description

We are looking to adopt an individual child up to a sibling group of 4 with ages up to 12 and any ethnic background. We are willing to accept minor or medically correctable conditions but open to discussion on a case by case scenario.

The Fontenot Family Profile

We would like to adopt a child who is less than 13 years old. We are open to boys or girls. We feel we can accommodate a sibling group of up to 4 kids. We prefer to adopt a child of Caucasian, Hispanic, Black, Asian, Native american or Pacific islander ethnic background. We are open to children with ALLERGIES-Animal Allergies-Severe or ALLERGIES-Asthma-Severe or ALLERGIES-Drug Allergies-Severe or ALLERGIES-Food Allergies-Severe or ALLERGIES-Environmental Allergies special needs. In general, We are looking to adopt an individual child up to a sibling group of 4 with ages up to 12 and any ethnic background. We are willing to accept minor or medically correctable conditions but open to discussion on a case by case scenario.

Introduction

Our names are Hillary and Chris Fontenot. I am currently 38 years old. My partner is currently 37 years old. We have 3 kids. Our children's names are Adah, Elias and Eden and they are 3, 6 and 1 years old, respectively Our children are of ethnicity.

I am a stay-at-home parent and have a flexible work schedule. My partner works full-time for Our Life Foods as a CEO/Founder and has a flexible work schedule. We love doing things a family; going for walks or bike rides, trips to the park, trips to the coast, playing in yard. I am very artistic and love to create things, as do my two older kids. My husband loves home projects. A typical day during the school year is just me and my two youngest daughters, caring for them and the house, as well as any ministry duties I'm involved in. We love to be outside, so in good weather we're in the yard or out and about in the neighborhood a lot. We eat family dinner together every evening. Multiple stories as well as the Bible are read every night before bedtime. After that my husband and I spend the evening on the porch, or winding down with a little TV or a movie, and then reading together.

Home and Community

We live in the State of Oregon. Our home is a single family home. We live in a Suburban neighborhood. We do not have any pets.

Parenting Experience

Chris and I have three biological children ages 6, 3, and 1. In addition to parenting our own kids, we started and led our church's youth group for nearly four years. We taught, mentored, and lived life with middle school and high school aged students. After that I, Hillary, moved on to collage ministry where I taught and mentored for two years, both on Mt. Hood Community Collage campus and in our church. Both my husband and I love kids and frequently have neighborhood children over to play as well.

Support

Our family is blessed with an incredible church community. We've gone to the same church for over 10 years, our children have grown up in this church, and the people there are more like family than anything else. They are the literal village that has helped in raising our kids, and they are excited and supportive about our adoption journey; they can't wait to meet our new additions! We also have devoted friends that we do much life with, and they too have walked along side us in parenting. They support, advise, babysit, and love our children endlessly. We fully intend to continue or start whatever therapy and counseling our adopted children may need, as well as family counseling to help all of us transition well as a whole.

Motivation to Adopt

We have worked very hard to educate ourselves on the challenges and difficulties of bringing in an adopted sibling group. We've read countless books, as well as articles, blogs, and vlogs. We've also picked the minds of our friends who have adopted through foster care. We have searched out honest, raw information and testimonies on adoption, and we have asked ourselves the hard questions of whether or not we're up for this. The answer has always been a resounding yes. We are nervous and sometimes downright scared of this undertaking, but we are also certain we've been called to love these children, give them a home, and hopefully help them thrive in life.