A Family For Every Child
A Family For Every Child
Donate Now FAMILY LOGIN Contact Us
Facebook Twitter Linked In YouTube
 
Pinterest Instagram Blog

For further information, please call 877-343-2856 or email matching@afamilyforeverychild.org
Jen and Chris
Jen and Chris

Jen and Chris
Oregon

Basic Info

Jen

Age: 38
Sex: Female
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian, Native American
Religion: Presbyterian

Chris

Age: 33
Sex: Male
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian
Religion: Catholic

Child Preferences

Age: Infant to 12 years old
Sex: Either
Max Number of Children: 2
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian, African American, Asian, Native American, Hispanic, Pacific Islander, Mixed, Bi-Racial, Unknown


Special Needs the Family is Open To: Moderate Physical/Medical Disability, Asthma, Drug Allergies, Environmental Allergies, Food Allergies, Difficulty Making Friends, Lying, Born with HIV issues or HIV Positive, Prenatal Drug Exposure, Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Speech Delays - Mild, Anorexia/Bulimia, Hoarding, Overeating, Pica, Academically behind due to poor attendance, Cognitive Delay - Mild, Expulsion(s), Has Behavior Problems in School, Mild Learning Disabilities, Moderate Learning Disabilities, Speech or Language Impairment, Suspension(s), One/Both Parents Diagnosed with Depression, One/Both Parents Have Alcohol Addiction, One/Both Parents Have Drug Addiction, One/Both Parents Diagnosed with Bipolar, Exposed to Domestic Violence, One/Both Parents Have Had a Mental Diagnosis, Child has had a disrupted adoption, Multiple Placements, Parents Willing to Seek Guardianship, ADHD, Arthritis, Cancer, Diabetes, Epilepsy, Heart Disorder: May Require Surgery, Hemophilia, HIV, Missing Limbs: May Require Prosthesis, Seizures, Sickle Cell Disease, Sickle Cell Traits, Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, Bipolar Disorder, Depression, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, Previous Psychiatric Hospitalization, Requires Medication For Psychiatric Condition/Mental Health Diagnosis, Requires Counseling/Therapy, Runaway - Occasionally, Runaway - Past, Willing to Maintain Contact via Mail with Bio Family, Willing to Maintain Contact with Past Foster Parents, Willing to Maintain Contact with Bio Grandparents & Other Relatives, Willing to Maintain Contact with Bio Siblings, Child Identifies as LGBT, Sexually Abused in the Past, Sexually Active, Alcohol Use, Marijuana, Smokes Cigarettes

Environment

State: Oregon
Neighborhood: Country/Rural
Residency:
Years Together: 9
Children in the Home: 0
Pet(s): Dog(s)

Work

Jen

Occupation: Policy and Research Director

Chris

Occupation: Hydraulics Engineer

Adoption Agency

Agency: A Family For Every Child
Worker: Stephanie Cummings
Worker: s.cummings@afamilyforeverychild.org
City: Eugene
State: Oregon
Zip: 97402

Family Description

Hi! We’re Jen and Chris. We’re both originally from the Greater Philadelphia area, and we last lived in Vermont, before moving to Oregon in 2018. We now live in La Grande, a small college town in rural Eastern Oregon surrounded by mountains and amazing outdoor recreational opportunities. We are very excited to grow our family beyond the two of us and our dog, Honey. Jen is adopted, and adoption has been an important way of building family for both her biological and adoptive families. Jen has always known that adoption was the way that she wanted to grow her family, so when we first started dating, one of the first big questions Jen asked was whether adopting children would be okay if things worked out. Needless to say, things did indeed work out, and 9 years later, including 6 years of being married, here we are! Jen is an active, dedicated person who cares deeply about her family, friends, and community. Jen works as the Policy & Research Director for an early childhood non-profit in Vermont (she teleworks, with occasional trips back East before COVID-19). She also works part-time in the winter as an alpine ski instructor at Anthony Lakes Mountain Resort, our local ski area. Chris is a thoughtful and caring person who greatly values his family. Chris works as an Associate Hydraulics Engineer for the Oregon Department of Transportation after going back to school in 2014 to get his BS in Environmental Engineering. Previously, he worked as a mechanic for a number of years. As a family, we enjoy spending time together, whether it’s going for a hike in the mountains, camping at the coast, taking our boat out on one of the many reservoirs in our region, watching football together (Go Eagles!), or playing Uno, Bohnanza, or another card/board game in the evening. We can't wait to welcome a new child or sibling group into our family.

Preference Description

We can't wait to share our life with a child or sibling group of up to two children between the ages of 0 through 12 years of age of any race or gender identity with mild to moderate needs.