A Family For Every Child
A Family For Every Child
Donate Now FAMILY LOGIN Contact Us
Facebook Twitter Linked In YouTube
 
Pinterest Instagram Blog

For further information, please call 877-343-2856 or email matching@afamilyforeverychild.org
Heidi and Tommy
Heidi and Tommy

Heidi and Tommy
Washington

Basic Info

Heidi

Age: 50
Sex: Female
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian
Religion: Christian

Tommy

Age: 72
Sex: Male
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian
Religion: Christian

Child Preferences

Age: 5 to 12 years old
Sex: Female
Max Number of Children: 2
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian, African American, Asian, Native American, Hispanic, Pacific Islander


Special Needs the Family is Open To: Any Child

Environment

State: Washington
Neighborhood: City/Urban
Residency:
Years Together: 17
Children in the Home: 0
Pet(s): Dog(s)

Work

Heidi

Occupation:

Tommy

Occupation:

Adoption Agency

Agency: A Family For Every Child
Worker: Prudence Zeni
Worker: prudence@afamilyforeverychild.org
City: Eugene
State: Oregon
Zip: 97402

Family Description

My husband and I have been married (first marriage for both of us) for 17 years and 21 days. We have two dogs a purebred Australian Queensland Blue Healer and a long haired Chihuahua. We live in a nice, safe neighborhood with lots of children of all ages. We are a good Christian family that does work in the LBGTQ and HIV/AIDS communities. We have done Missionary work in Kenya, Africa and are conversant in Swahili. I have worked 8 1/2 years in the Public School System including Day Care. I have a degree and Certification in Early Child Care Specialist and even opened up my own Day Care Business. My husband and I also brought my grandmother in to live with us and took care of her before being put in an Assisted Living home for Alzheimer's. (She passed away seven months ago. My husband Tommy is a retired Marine (Gunnery Sargent) and a retired Clinical Audiologist. He has a Seminary degree and is a teaching Pastor. As a family, we love to do lots of activities together including going to plays and musicals and Antique shopping. We also do devotionals at night as a family as well and have open communication. Any child that is chosen to be our forever daughter will always feel loved and wanted and feel very special.

Preference Description

We are looking to adopt a girl between the ages of 5 and 12 years old. Ethnicity does not matter. We would consider any child to bring into our home for a forever family including LBGTQ, HIV/AIDS, SLD.

The Cattey Family Profile

We would like to adopt a child between the ages of 5 and 8 inclusive. We would like to adopt a girl. We feel we can accommodate a single child. We prefer to adopt a child of Caucasian, Hispanic, Black, Asian, Native american or Pacific islander ethnic background. We are open to children with special needs. In general, We are looking to adopt a girl between the ages of 5 and 8 years old. Ethnicity does not matter. We would consider any child to bring into our home for a forever family including LBGTQ, HIV/AIDS, SLD.

Introduction

My partner is not currently employed . My husband and I love to travel and make memories. We also like to go to musicals and plays including the Nutcracker Ballet and Phantom of the Opera, Cats. We also do devotionals together and have open communications with one another and when our child comes, they to will be in our discussions. I am a very artistic person and do lots of artistic activities including oil painting, drawing, crochet, and knitting. Tommy is very good at wood working and has made many wood working items. We even remodeled our home where we came from ourselves including retiling our bathroom and completely remodeling our kitchen from the ground up. We both exercise as well. We take walks and we visit Columbia Park often. We love to go on picnics and go antique shopping.

Home and Community

We live in the State of Washington. Our home is a single family home. We live in a City/Urban neighborhood. We have one or more dogs .

Parenting Experience

I have 8 1/2 years working in the Public Schools System. I worked in the SPED department including ED (Emotional) and SLD(Specific Learning Disability) and regular Ed in the elementary school as well. I have a degree and certification in Early Childcare Specialist. We are both CPR and First AID Certified. I have worked in Child Care centers. Some as the aid while others the lead teacher. After graduating College in ECCS) I opened my own day care business at our home where we moved from. I have babysat my nieces when they were younger. I tutored children both before and after school and I helped a few students with their reading level and with my help their reading levels went up. I also was a Sunday School Teacher both 3rd grade and 3 year old class rooms and have been mentors to several students. During my college courses I have taken Brain Developmental classes and volunteered at a Children's Museum both reading to the children and working in the children's department and setting up class activities. One of the courses I took in College, I worked in the Evelyn H. Warren classroom both 4-6 year old and 2-3 year old's and wrote up the class schedule and activities. During a class on Marriage and Family, the Children's Museum mentorship program was full so I (through my teacher's approval) wrote my own class curriculum as an assignment. The teacher liked it so much he submitted it to the department and they were looking into making it a regular teaching program at the college. All this training and experience have better prepared me to parent and teaching the child. We also helped out one of my former students and brought him to our home to stay to try and help get his life back on track.

Support

My family and our friends will be our continued supporters of our adoption. My own mother was adopted when she was born and it was within the family. (birth mother's sister) and will accept our daughter fully. She (our daughter will be 100 percent covered medically as well. Family has always been important to us and since my family has endured adoption as well they understand the importance of acceptance and will open their hearts and homes to her when she comes. Tommy and I will be full on committed parents while also guiding her throughout her life.

Motivation to Adopt

My husband and I are 100% committed to raising our child. She will have her say in things we do. She will be loved and feel loved and wanted and accepted. This is a lifetime commitment and a permanent one and the child will know that they are in there forever home.