A Family For Every Child
A Family For Every Child
Donate Now FAMILY LOGIN Contact Us
Facebook Twitter Linked In YouTube
 
Pinterest Instagram Blog

For further information, please call 877-343-2856 or email matching@afamilyforeverychild.org
Colette and Nathan
Colette and Nathan

Colette and Nathan
Idaho

Basic Info

Colette

Age: 39
Sex: Female
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian
Religion: Mormon-Church of the Latter Day Saints

Nathan

Age: 44
Sex: Male
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian
Religion: Mormon-Church of the Latter Day Saints

Child Preferences

Age: Infant to 10 years old
Sex: Either
Max Number of Children: 3
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian, African American, Asian, Native American, Hispanic, Pacific Islander


Special Needs the Family is Open To: Mild Physical/Medical Disability (Open to Discussion), Animal Allergies, Asthma, Environmental Allergies, Food Allergies, Poor Social Skills, Drug Addicted at Birth, Failure to Thrive, Prenatal Drug Exposure, Speech Delays - Mild, Speech Delays - Moderate, Vision Impaired, Academically behind due to poor attendance, Cognitive Delay - Mild, Mild Learning Disabilities, Moderate Learning Disabilities, Speech or Language Impairment, Multiple Placements, ADHD, Willing to Maintain Contact via Mail with Bio Family, Willing to Maintain Contact with Past Foster Parents, Willing to Maintain Contact with Bio Grandparents & Other Relatives, Willing to Maintain Contact with Bio Siblings

Environment

State: Idaho
Neighborhood: Country/Rural
Residency:
Years Together: 16
Children in the Home: 5
Pet(s): Cat(s), farm animal(s), other

Work

Colette

Occupation:

Nathan

Occupation: Engineer

Adoption Agency

Agency: A Family For Every Child
Worker: Bridget Barrus
Worker: bridget@afamilyforeverychild.org
City: Eugene
State: Oregon
Zip: 97402

Family Description

We are a stable, fun-loving family of seven actively looking for a few more children!

Preference Description

We would like at least one boy (birth to age 6 or 7) and are open to one or two more siblings, either gender. We have ideas in our mind but realize what fits our family and the child/children may not be what we expect.

The Miller Family Profile

We are hoping to adopt a sibling group of 2-3 children with the oldest age 11 or below. We believe we would like a boy in the 0-6/7 year old category, and we are totally supportive of other siblings that come along with that, girls or boys. The more, the merrier. Our children are supportive and anxious to add more children to our family. We are open to any ethnic background. If we adopt a child from another culture, we will find opportunities for them to celebrate their culture. We understand that is important as we have watched siblings marry inter culturally and strive to blend cultures. Boise is a large city. There are many community opportunities. Nate spent two years in Guatemala and is fluent in Spanish. We would absolutely honor previous relationships with foster families and birth families. Connection is so important.

Introduction

Nate and I have been married 15 years. We have 5 kids, and they are 4, 6, 8, 10 and 13 years old. I am a stay-at-home parent and have a flexib-lish schedule. I am on the board for our home education co-op and volunteer as the U.S. Director of the Angel Gowns Project, a cause near and dear to my heart. I am passionate about continuing education and personal growth and mindset, making healthy food and choices, and raising our family.

Nate works full-time as an Engineer. Our kids favorite meal is dinner because Dad is home with us! Nate loves to play basketball and spend time in the outdoors. He enjoys volunteering with scouts and youth. Nate is handy and can figure just about anything out. Nate enjoys teaching and studying personal growth/mindset.

We swim a lot in the summer and go on family bike rides or walks together. During the days, we do lots of family read alouds. We have a family cabin we like to go to during the summer where we get to slow down and enjoy nature and the solitude of the outdoors. There is also a lake up there where we like to relax and paddle board on.

We like to play sports (basketball, kickball, soccer, etc) together as a family in the evening. We have laughed a lot while doing that with a variety of ages and skill levels. With seven of us already in the home, we have a lot of interests. Playing music in nursing homes, doing hair and nails, poultry, learning different instruments, fiddle camps, service opportunities, crafts, backyard games, etc. We enjoy camping and all the dirt that comes with the adventure. Nate and I believe that childhood is not always clean and is often really loud, and really good things are learned through that. Nate has taken the older kids backpacking the past 4-5 years. In a few more years, we will be able to go together.

We like taking road trips to new places, and we recently learned we really enjoy national parks.

Daily/weekly routines - We eat dinner as a family each night. We go to church together on Sundays. We clean the house each Friday, and everyone has their own laundry days. We have morning and night time routines, learning time, free time, quiet time, and a lot of time for spontaneity too.

Home and Community

We live on 3/4 acre in a quiet neighborhood 5-10 minutes from town. We spend a lot of time in our yard, which has big climbing trees, a sandbox, tramp, a pool, lots of swings, a garden, lots of grass to play kickball and soccer on. We have several 4h chickens, cats, and a rabbit. As I'm typing, I have a dozen chicks we hatched peeping beside me.

We are involved in 4H, book clubs, home education co-op, library programs, acting in plays, church activity groups, and music lessons.

We live in Boise and are minutes away from community resources--hospitals, doctor's offices, schools, etc.

Parenting Experience

I have been babysitting since I was 9 years old and babysat all through high school. I grew up in a family with an older sister and two younger brothers and lots of cousins. At family reunions I would always entertain the littles so parents could visit. Right now I volunteer at church with the 3-10 year olds each week. For a few years I provided activities for 8-11 year old girls. I teach various subjects each week in a co-op up to age 14. Nate has five younger siblings. The youngest is adopted out of the foster care system. For the past 15 years, he has worked with 11-18 year old young men and young women, and he loves it! He feels that working with the scouts/young men is part of his life mission. We enjoy having friends in the home or cousins come to stay for visits. Nate and I completed TBRI training and implement some with our family already.

Support

We have grandparents, aunts and uncles, and cousins that will welcome more children into the family. Nate's sister has a foster child right now, and he is loved as part of the family. One set of grandparents and two uncles live nearby. We have close friends and family friends that will provide support to us. We are creating a network of adoptive families too, and that will continue to grow. I feel like this will be invaluable as we continue on in the process. We are members of a church community that will welcome more children and will support us where we need support. We have neighbors that we love and will be here in case of emergencies. Nate and I are support for each other too. We are doing this together, and we communicate our needs and joys too.

Motivation to Adopt

We believe God builds families in many ways, and we are excited to continue building ours through adoption. We feel called to provide a family and support for children who need that. We don't quit. Millers don't quit--on people or on life. We realize there will be roadblocks and adjustments and that our family will change, yet we also feel that a lot of good will come out of it--growth from everyone, empathy, patience, etc.