A Family For Every Child
A Family For Every Child
Donate Now FAMILY LOGIN Contact Us
Facebook Twitter Linked In YouTube
 
Pinterest Instagram Blog

For further information, please call 877-343-2856 or email matching@afamilyforeverychild.org
michelle and edward
michelle and edward

michelle and edward
Oregon

Basic Info

michelle

Age: 43
Sex: Female
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian
Religion: Lutheran

edward

Age: 43
Sex: Male
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian
Religion: Lutheran

Child Preferences

Age: Infant to 10 years old
Sex: Either
Max Number of Children: 2
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian, African American, Asian, Native American, Hispanic, Pacific Islander


Special Needs the Family is Open To: Moderate Physical/Medical Disability (Open to Discussion), Asthma, Drug Allergies, Environmental Allergies, Food Allergies

Environment

State: Oregon
Neighborhood: Country/Rural
Residency:
Years Together: 21
Children in the Home: 2
Pet(s): Dog(s)

Work

michelle

Occupation: Stay at home parent

edward

Occupation: technician

Adoption Agency

Agency: A family for every child
Worker: Staci Super
Worker: staci@afamilyforeverychild.org
City: EUGENE
State: Oregon
Zip: 97402

Family Description

We’re an active family of 4 that enjoys spending our time together exploring the outdoors, parks, walking trails w/ the dog, swimming, camping, playdates, going out to eat, beach and mountain day trips and spend a good amount of time with extended family and friends. On the rainy days watching movies, eat out, doing craft activities, baking fun also do some gaming together.... We have 2 bright spirted outgoing boys, Brett (12) and Darrin (10) They are very welcoming to children of all ages!... My partner and I have been together for almost 22 years, married for 16 yrs... Around 2 1/2 yrs ago we adopted a sweet gentle hearted 2 year old dog named Luna. She's been a wonderful addition to our family.... Our neighborhood has always been a fun, close nit, warm welcoming, multi-cultural place to live with a large number of kids of all ages within walking distance the last 17 years we have lived here. Every child should have a safe, positive, loving, welcoming, comfortable place to call home. Were hoping to complete our family circle through adoption.

Preference Description

We would like to adopt a child who is less than 10 years old. We feel we can accommodate a sibling group of up to 2 kids .Moderate Physical/ Medical Disability (definitely open to Discussion)

The Moist Family Profile

We would like to adopt a child who is less than 10 years old. We are open to a girl or boy. We feel we can accommodate a sibling group of up to 2 kids. We prefer to adopt a child of Hispanic, African American, Asian, Native American, Caucasian or Pacific Islander ethnic background.

We are willing to maintain contact via mail with bio family if its safe and positive for the child's wellbeing. We are also willing to maintain contact with past foster parents.

We are open to children with Mild Physical/Medical Disability (Open to Discussion), Asthma, Drug Allergies, Environmental Allergies, Food Allergies, Difficulty in Attaching, Difficulty Making Friends, Manipulative, Poor Social Skills, Self-Abuse, Stealing, Tantrums-Severe, Wets the Bed, Drug Addicted at Birth, Low Birth Weight or Premature, Prenatal Drug Exposure, Occupational Therapy, Hearing Impaired, Hoarding, Overeating, Cognitive Delay - Mild, Expulsion(s), Has Behavior Problems in School, Mild Learning Disabilities, Moderate Learning Disabilities, Speech or Language Impairment, Suspension(s), One/Both Parents Diagnosed with Depression, One/Both Parents Diagnosed with Schizophrenia, One/Both Parents Have Alcohol Addiction, One/Both Parents Have Drug Addiction, One/Both Parents Diagnosed with Bipolar, Exposed to Domestic Violence, One/Both Parents Have Had a Mental Diagnosis, Child in Residential Treatment, Child has had a disrupted adoption, Multiple Placements, Residential Treatment History, ADHD, Arthritis, Diabetes,, Heart Disorder:

Introduction

Our names are Michelle and Eddie and we are currently 42 years old; we have been together for almost 22 years and married for 16. We have been blessed with 2 biological very sweet spirited boys, Brett (age 13) and Darrin (age 11) who bring so much joy to our lives. A few years ago we rescued a gentle, tenderhearted, goofy 2 year old sweetheart named Luna who is a Catahoula/Plott hound mix.

I feel very fortunate to be a stay-at-home parent and have been for the past 7 years. My partner works full-time for Fitness Equipment Specialist as a technician and also has a flexible work schedule. In our spare time, we enjoy as many adventures as we can if its spending time enjoying the outdoors: walking on trails with the dog, swimming, riding bikes together, fun playdates or camping! As Brett and Darrin get older they are not as intrested in competivitve sport activities so we tend to go on road trips to the beach or mountains frequently exploring kid friendly trails on foot as well as riding in our (5 seater) side by side "UTV" for some extra family fun. Movies are always a hit as are the frequent BBQs with extended family and friends in the neighborhood.

Home and Community

We reside in Oregon. Both of us were born and raised in the great Pacific Northwest! We bought a charming, cozy historic home 18 years ago, and added a large addition to accommodate our growing family. We live in a fun, close knit, warm, welcoming, multi-cultural neighborhood. We enjoy yearly holiday potlucks, BBQ's, gatherings, and baking club activities that involves the kids being creative with no bake desserts. There are 3 parks within 2 miles including a few kid friendly adventurous trails.

In this rural community the elementary and middle schools my kids attend are very diverse. They have support staff to help kids struggling with reading and/or writing and full-time counselors available if needed. The schools also have fun afterschool spring and winter club activities and family fun nights for the kids to connect with their peers, teachers and extended family.

Parenting Experience

I enjoy being involved in the kids school as that is what Brett and Darrin always welcomed. volunteering in and out of the classroom. Prior to the kids attending kindergarten, Eddie and I helped with preschool events and daily activities. I still enjoy helping out with watching extended family and friends children. When my youngest was 18 months old, I ran a moms group that included 50 moms and their kiddos. My goal was to create a fun, positive, and supportive experience for moms and their children.

Support

We have a large, blended and diverse support system with friends and family. We have 23 cousins, 9 "second" cousins, 15 aunts and 12 uncles including our 4 parents and 3 great-grandparents who are very excited about our decision to expand our family through adoption.

We have been researching additional resources: books, videos, programs, referrals to community resources that can help us increase our understanding of adoption. We are in the process of preparing for the changes this child, and our biological children, will be facing. My aunt has been a certified foster/adoption mom for over 25 years and she adopted one of the children in her care. A few of my close friends have been adopted at a young age as well.

Motivation to Adopt

Adoption has always been something we considered and now is the time. Our children are a bit older so we feel we can distribute our parent time evenly with each child much better now. At this age, I feel Brett and Darrin have a better understanding about the adjustment that comes with welcoming a new sibling into our home.

The obstacles and heart gripping challenges we've faced as a family the past 13 years has helped make us stronger and more determined to never take the little things for granted. We will seek the support we need for a better, smoother transition for everyone! Every child deserves a safe, positive, and loving family and a place to call home.