A Family For Every Child
A Family For Every Child
Donate Now FAMILY LOGIN Contact Us
Facebook Twitter Linked In YouTube
 
Pinterest Instagram Blog

For further information, please call 877-343-2856 or email matching@afamilyforeverychild.org
Patricia and Scott
Patricia and Scott

Patricia and Scott
Oregon

Basic Info

Patricia

Age: 40
Sex: Female
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian
Religion: None

Scott

Age: 51
Sex: Male
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian
Religion: None

Child Preferences

Age: Infant to 13 years old
Sex: Either
Max Number of Children: 3
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian, African American, Asian, Native American, Hispanic, Pacific Islander, Mixed, Bi-Racial, Unknown


Special Needs the Family is Open To: Mild Physical/Medical Disability (Open to Discussion), Asthma, Drug Allergies, Environmental Allergies, Food Allergies, Difficulty in Attaching, Difficulty Making Friends, Poor Social Skills, Wets the Bed, Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Deaf, Hearing Impaired, Vision Impaired, Academically behind due to poor attendance

Environment

State: Oregon
Neighborhood: Country/Rural
Residency:
Years Together: 9
Children in the Home: 0
Pet(s): Cat(s), farm animal(s)

Work

Patricia

Occupation: Coach

Scott

Occupation: Farm Sanctuary Manager, Research Scientist

Adoption Agency

Agency: A family for every child
Worker: Heather Raskin
Worker: heather@afamilyforeverychild.org
City: EUGENE
State: Oregon
Zip: 97402

Family Description

test

Preference Description

We are looking to adopt 1-3 children of any ethnic background, gender and/or age. We are willing to accept minor or medically correctable conditions and might be well-suited to a child/children on the autism spectrum. No history of harm to animals.

The Morrison-Plummer Family Profile

We would like to adopt a sibling group, ideally between the ages of 3 and 12, but it depends more on fit than age. Boys and/or girls are fine. Almost any ethnic background will blend in with our family. Patricia speaks Spanish, grew up along the US-Mexico border, and we have Latinx neighbors, so children of Latinx background may feel at home here. We are open to children with certain special needs and may do well with one or more children on the autism spectrum.

Introduction

Our names are Patricia Morrison and Scott Plummer. We do not have any children currently, although we do have a farm animal sanctuary and lovingly care for 80+ animal friends, including indoor cats.

Patricia works as a wellness and business coach and has a flexible work schedule. Scott works as the Farm Sanctuary Manager and a research scientist and also has a flexible work schedule.

Outside of work, our days include time outdoors with animals, cooking, reading, relaxing, and spending time with friends. We love nature, books, movies, and music. Patricia is a writer and used to be a touring singer-songwriter, so we host occasional folk music house concerts. While we live just outside of a small town, our rural valley is also home to a world class theater community, strong schools, lots of cultural opportunities, and easy access to hiking, rafting, and other ways of enjoying nature.

We have a strong community of friends of all ages, including families with children.

Home and Community

We live on the outskirts of Medford, a semi-rural community in southern Oregon of about 80,000, surrounded by smaller towns in an agricultural valley surrounded by mountain ranges. It is situated on I-5, which runs from the Mexico to Canada, and gives easy access to larger communities. It also has an international airport and shuttle connection to Amtrak.

It has 14 public elementary schools (including one within walking distance from our house), two public middle schools, and two public high schools, as well as a number of private schools at all levels. There is an Early Intervention Program, as well as an Early Special Education Program, from K to 12, which is available through the schools. All the schools in the area have well staffed resource rooms. There are a number of therapists trained in working with children with histories of trauma.

Southern Oregon University and Rogue Community College are nearby as well.

Our 1928 farmhouse currently has three bedrooms and one bath plus a semi-finished basement. We have plans for an addition, which would include additional bedrooms.

There is a detached garage and several outbuildings for the animals. Five of the ten acres are fenced in. There is also a large garden and an orchard. Our semi-rural neighborhood is safe and with easy access to town.

We have friendly neighbors, easy access to theater, art, history and cultural activities, including a children's museum, a hands-on children's science museum, many parks, trails, playgrounds, recreation programs, and other activities.

Parenting Experience

Support

Motivation to Adopt