A Family For Every Child
A Family For Every Child
Donate Now FAMILY LOGIN Contact Us
Facebook Twitter Linked In YouTube
 
Pinterest Instagram Blog

For further information, please call 877-343-2856 or email matching@afamilyforeverychild.org
Ashley and Chris
Ashley and Chris

Ashley and Chris
Oregon

Basic Info

Ashley

Age: 34
Sex: Female
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian
Religion: Christian

Chris

Age: 37
Sex: Male
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian
Religion: Christian

Child Preferences

Age: Infant to 11 years old
Sex: Either
Max Number of Children: 4
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian, African American, Asian, Native American, Hispanic, Pacific Islander, Mixed, Bi-Racial, Unknown


Special Needs the Family is Open To: Mild Physical/Medical Disability (Open to Discussion), Asthma, Drug Allergies, Environmental Allergies, Food Allergies, Difficulty in Attaching, Difficulty Making Friends, Lying, Manipulative, Poor Social Skills, Self-Abuse, Stealing, Tantrums-Severe, Wets the Bed, Drug Addicted at Birth, Low Birth Weight or Premature, Prenatal Drug Exposure, Occupational Therapy, Hearing Impaired, Hoarding, Overeating, Pica

Environment

State: Oregon
Neighborhood: Suburban
Residency:
Years Together: 9
Children in the Home: 1
Pet(s): Dog(s)

Work

Ashley

Occupation: Medical Coding Specialist 2

Chris

Occupation: Production Manager

Adoption Agency

Agency: A family for every child
Worker: Lyndsie Wynn
Worker: lyndsie@afamilyforeverychild.org
City: EUGENE
State: Oregon
Zip: 97402

Family Description

Our names are Ashley and Chris Potts. I am currently 33 years old. My partner is currently 36 years old. We have one child. Our child's name is Chase Potts and he/she is 12 years old. Our child is of ethnicity. I work full-time for St. Charles as a Medical Coding Specialist 2 and have a flexible work schedule. My partner works full-time for Laser Line as a Production Manager and has a flexible work schedule.

Preference Description

We would like to adopt a sibling group of 2 girls or 1 boy between the ages of 2-11 year old. We are willing to accept minor or medically correctable conditions, special needs such as PTSD, attachment, ADD or ADHD. Prefer no permanent serious disability.

The Potts Family Profile

We would like to adopt a child who is less than 12 years old. We are open to boys or girls. We feel we can accommodate a sibling group of up to 4 kids. Almost any ethnic background will blend in with our family. We are open to children with many special needs. In general, we would like to adopt a sibling group of all girls or a mix of boys and girls between the ages of infant-11 year old. We are willing to accept minor or medically correctable conditions, special needs such as PTSD, attachment, ADD or ADHD. Prefer no permanent serious disability.

Introduction

Our names are Ashley and Chris Potts. I am currently 33 years old. My partner is currently 36 years old. We have one child from Chris' previous marriage. Ashley is Chase's step mom. Our child's name is Chase Potts and he is 12 years old. He is very smart, and has the most kind heart. He loves to play football, and lacrosse, and of course video games. He love hanging out with his friends and family time. He especially loves our family movie nights on our big screen, complete with delicious popcorn!

Ashley works from home full-time for St. Charles as a Medical Coding Specialist 2, and has a flexible work schedule. She is also a dance instructor a few ours a week! She teaches hip hop and tap. Ashley has been dancing for 16 years, and LOVES it! She especially loves the community and support she receives from all of her students and dance family! Ashley also enjoys arts and crafts, kayaking, and traveling.

My partner works full-time for Laser Line as a Production Manager and has a flexible work schedule. Chris is a great artist who works with many different mediums. He enjoys movies, kayaking, traveling, camping and fishing, and so much more!

We have one dog named Watson. He is an English bulldog who is 2 years old. He LOVES kids, almost as much as he loves to take naps. He is very gentle and well trained and would LOVE to have new human siblings to spoil him!

We are an active family that like to keep to a consistent schedule and routine. There is flexibility, but we find that consistency works well for everyone. We love to go out to local events, enjoy what nature has to offer, and go on grand adventures. We do all these as often as we can! One of our favorite ways to travel is cruising! We love Disney cruise lines for their family friendly environment and all the entertainment! We cant wait to share our love of life and adventure with our newest member(s) we get to add to our family!

Home and Community

We live in the State of Oregon. Our home is a single family home in a beautiful Suburban neighborhood. Just a block away is a park complete with a giant jungle gym and swing set and plenty of room to run! We are in walking distance of two elementary schools that are both amazing! We are minutes from the best walking trails, mountains, rivers,and local activities. Ashley works from home with a flexible schedule. With Chris' work also having a flexible schedule, it allows one of them to always be home. Ashley parents are also our next door neighbors! So they would always have plenty of family around to love on our newest family members!

Parenting Experience

As a split home for Chase, it has its challenges. Being in two different houses you have two different sets of rules and expectations. Chris and I have learned that being clear about our expectations ahead of time and giving opportunities to make mistakes while learning, with out consequences really helps! It has given Chase the ability to work through the differences in each home. We make Chore charts, and clipboards for him to keep track of his daily tasks to ensure he gets them done. We also meet with the other parents on a regular basis to talk about/keep up with what we think is the next best move for Chase. This helps us keep up with any struggles e may be having and allows the adults to be on the same page. Chris previously worked with troubled youth, he is great at guiding with patience and empathy, but is also good with clear boundaries and expectations. Ashley has been teaching dance to youth for 16 years teaching kids from the age of 2-64. She has worked with kids who have ADD, ADHD, down syndrome, high functioning autism, and high functioning aspurgers. She is good at learning what a child likes and dislikes and what forms of communication they are comfortable with. We all communicate differently, and it is important to have the patience to learn how to effectively communicate with a child. We also have strong support from extended family that we see on a very regular basis.

Support

We are so fortunate to have such a wonderful support system. Ashley's parents live right next door and they see them daily! Chris' parents live just a short drive away, on a small farm which we like to visit often! We have many siblings that live in town and in other places in Oregon. Chris and Ashley have a total of 6 nieces and nephews, meaning LOTS of cousins to spend time with! Holidays, and special events are spent in our home as the main gathering place! We have family members who are mixed race including Hispanic, native american, and African american. If we adopt a child, we will look to the family member closest to that race as a resource and they would all be wonderful role models for any kids. We are open to resources in the community that would be beneficial to any child.

Motivation to Adopt

We have always wanted to adopt. It was a regular conversation when Chris and I first met. We thought we have have one, or two kids first and then adopt. However, after struggling with infertility, we knew that adoption was our calling! We are well educated and prepared for the challenges ahead, while greeting the journey with excitement. We have tremendous patience and understanding, especially for those who have experience trauma. We are trauma informed, and we think it is important to continue education in all areas of adoption. We would continue with education based on the children placed with us and what their specific needs are. Our commitment to our children that we plan to adopt is unwavering. We have tried for the last 7 years to have kids. Being genetically related is not important for us to grow our family. UNCONDITIONAL love and support, empathy, understanding, patience, and perseverance is what we can offer our child/children adopted in to our home. They will be an equal part of our family. Our family will get involved in their heritage, embrace their culture, and make them a cohesive part of our family.