A Family For Every Child
A Family For Every Child
Donate Now FAMILY LOGIN Contact Us
Facebook Twitter Linked In YouTube
 
Pinterest Instagram Blog

For further information, please call 877-343-2856 or email matching@afamilyforeverychild.org
solyssa and Mikel
solyssa and Mikel

solyssa and Mikel
Oregon

Basic Info

solyssa

Age: 43
Sex: Female
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian
Religion: None

Mikel

Age: 39
Sex: Male
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian
Religion: None

Child Preferences

Age: Infant to 7 years old
Sex: Either
Max Number of Children: 2
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian, African American, Asian, Native American, Hispanic, Pacific Islander, Mixed, Bi-Racial, Unknown


Special Needs the Family is Open To: Any Child, Animal Allergies, Asthma, Drug Allergies, Environmental Allergies, Food Allergies, Defiant, Difficulty in Attaching, Difficulty Making Friends, Encopresis, Lying, Manipulative, Poor Social Skills, Self-Abuse, Stealing, Wets the Bed, Drug Addicted at Birth, Failure to Thrive, Fetal Alcohol Effected, Low Birth Weight or Premature, Prenatal Drug Exposure, Gastric Tube, Requires Life-long Medical Treatment, Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Physically Disabled-Mild, Hearing Impaired, Speech Delays - Mild, Vision Impaired, Anorexia/Bulimia, Hoarding, Overeating, Pica, Academically behind due to poor attendance, Cognitive Delay - Mild, Expulsion(s), Has Behavior Problems in School, Mild Learning Disabilities, Moderate Learning Disabilities, Speech or Language Impairment, Suspension(s), One/Both Parents Diagnosed with Depression, One/Both Parents Diagnosed with Schizophrenia, One/Both Parents Have Alcohol Addiction, One/Both Parents Have Drug Addiction, One/Both Parents Diagnosed with Bipolar, Exposed to Domestic Violence, One/Both Parents Have Had a Mental Diagnosis, Child has had a disrupted adoption, Multiple Placements, Parents Willing to Seek Guardianship, ADHD, Diabetes, Seizures, Conduct Disorder, Depression, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, Requires Medication For Psychiatric Condition/Mental Health Diagnosis, Requires Counseling/Therapy, Animal Abuse, Destructive of Property, Runaway - Occasionally, Runaway - Past, Willing to Maintain Contact via Mail with Bio Family, Willing to Maintain Contact with Past Foster Parents, Willing to Maintain Contact with Bio Grandparents & Other Relatives, Willing to Maintain Contact with Bio Siblings, Child Identifies as LGBT, History of Sexually Acting Out, Sexually Abused in the Past

Environment

State: Oregon
Neighborhood: Country/Rural
Residency:
Years Together: 10
Children in the Home: 1
Pet(s): Dog(s), farm animal(s)

Work

solyssa

Occupation: RN

Mikel

Occupation: Wildland Fire Operations Specialist

Adoption Agency

Agency: A family for Every Child
Worker: Chautel Seimen
Worker: chauntel@afamilyforeverychild.org
City: Eugnee
State: Oregon
Zip: 97402

Family Description

We are Solyssa and Mike; we live in a small town in Oregon on a beautiful 3-acre mini-farm. We have a 6 year old son named Zander. Spending quality family time together is a priority for us; this includes time on our property, caring for our animals and garden, sharing meals, having a bonfire, playing games, watching movies or going exploring around our state. We love the outdoors and spend time camping and boating. We have a calm home with lots of affection and cuddles. We value good communication and clear expectations in our home. We believe in supporting each child on their individual journey to become their best self. We are also certified foster parents and have cared for children age 6mo-7 years. Mike works in wildland fire and Solyssa is home full time right now, but has worked as a nurse for the last 11 years. We are 45 minutes from the city of Eugene, Oregon, which has a wide range of medical care, child-based resources as well as fun activities like parks, museums and music events. We have a very supportive extended family and circle of friends for support and respite.

Preference Description

We are looking to adopt 1-2 children up to age 7, either gender. We are willing to accept minor or medically correctable conditions, a child with special needs, attachment, learning, or developmental delays but with no serious permanent disability.

The Visalli-Aizpitarte Family Profile

We are interested in adopting1-2 children and are considering ages infant to 7. We are willing to accept minor or medically correctable conditions, a child with special needs, attachment, learning, or developmental delays but with no serious permanent disability. We think a child's origin, including their birth parents, extended family, and ancestral connections are extremely important. We are open and encouraging to connection with birth family as long as it remains to the benefit of the child. We would also embrace and encourage learning and exploring, as a family, about their birth culture. This might include traveling locally to visit people or certain destinations/events and doing our own reading and exploration.

Introduction

We love family time and adventuring together. We enjoy the outdoors and mix time at home in our garden with adventures in Oregon for camping, boating and exploring. We live on a small 3-acre farm where we have pigs, chickens and a large garden. Mike works in wildland fire and Solyssa is currently home full time, but is a nurse but profession. Our son Zander just finished kindergarten. We value time at home together to connect, play games, or pursue our own interests alongside each other. We believe strongly in supporting each persons interests. Solyssa enjoys reading, listening to podcasts, knitting and growing a large garden. Mike always has farm projects that he is working on and enjoys playing disc golf or fishing on a day off. Zander's current loves include nature, science and Minecraft. We have meals together and do a lot of cooking. Solyssa enjoys baking and makes bread, scones and cookies; there is always something fresh coming out of the oven. We have a fire pit and frequently will have a bonfire in the evening, make smores, and sit and relax after our day. We celebrate birthdays and recognize major holidays. We have lots of favorite food traditions, crafts, children's books and other activities at these times. We like to hike on our local trails or spend a day at the river. We have a local nature group of other families and kids that we are involved with and we get together weekly to play and explore outdoors. Every few years we travel to the Basque Country in northern Spain to visit Mike's extended family there.

Home and Community

We live in Oakridge, Oregon, in a home on 3 beautiful acres. Oakridge is a community of 3,000 people in the Oregon Cascade mountains. We are surrounded by mountains, rivers, waterfalls and hot springs, and there are endless outdoor activities, including hundreds of miles of hiking and mountain biking trails and a small ski area. We have a wonderful community with lots of local events, a small theater and many committed and caring people. We have a good public school system (Oakridge High was recently ranked a top school but US News and World Report) and basic medical services in our town. We are 45 minutes from Eugene, the third largest city in our state and home to the University of Oregon, which has more opportunities for youth including a great parks department, many playgrounds, sports, music and theater, as well as more comprehensive social services.

Parenting Experience

We are the parents of one 6yo boy. He is a smart, strong-willed boy and has been our greatest teacher in growing our patience and communication skills. We try to help him identify his emotions and find healthy and safe ways of expressing them. Mike worked at a summer camp in college and he has worked as a sports coach and taught snowboarding to youth. Solyssa worked at a domestic violence shelter during college and received training related to children and the effects of trauma, and also spent time with children that were staying at the shelter. We both took the Orientation and Foundations Training through DHS to become foster parents. We have been certified foster parents for the last year and have had several placements of children ranging from 6 months to 7 years in age.

Support

We have many friends who are excited for us on this journey. Our nature group is a strong support network of other families with children who are committed to helping one another through life's challenges. A close friend and coworker of Mike is also becoming certified to foster and we hope to be able to support one another by providing respite. Solyssa's mother lives in a nearby town and visits regularly for a few days when she would happily provide respite. We have family members in Washington, Idaho and California who we see periodically and who are all very supportive. The community of Eugene has many resources available to children in foster care that have specific needs. These resources include Lane County Behavioral Health services which provides mental health counseling, WRAP services, and Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities services. The community also offers the Bethel family resource center, early intervention services, and many more.

Motivation to Adopt

We feel we have space in our lives, including our physical home, our financial picture, and our hearts to welcome and embrace another child. We have learned so much more about the challenges and trauma that foster kids face since we started this journey. We are committed to providing security and consistency within our home and family and providing healthy role models as parents and as a couple. We will actively support a child's growth and development and exploration of their identity within our family and community. We believe in helping each child find their inherent beauty and worth and supporting them to achieve their goals and dreams. We know it will be challenging but we believe we have the skills and support to be successful.