A Family For Every Child
A Family For Every Child
Donate Now FAMILY LOGIN Contact Us
Facebook Twitter Linked In YouTube
 
Pinterest Instagram Blog

For further information, please call 877-343-2856 or email matching@afamilyforeverychild.org
Brett and Ivy
Brett and Ivy

Brett and Ivy
Georgia

Basic Info

Brett

Age: 37
Sex: Male
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian
Religion: Christian

Ivy

Age: 29
Sex: Female
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian
Religion: Christian

Child Preferences

Age: 5 to 11 years old
Sex: Female
Max Number of Children: 1
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian, African American, Asian, Hispanic, Pacific Islander, Mixed, Bi-Racial, Unknown


Special Needs the Family is Open To: Mild Physical/Medical Disability (Open to Discussion), Asthma, Drug Allergies, Environmental Allergies, Food Allergies, Difficulty Making Friends, Poor Social Skills, Wets the Bed, Drug Addicted at Birth, Failure to Thrive, Low Birth Weight or Premature, Prenatal Drug Exposure, Physically Disabled-Mild, Blind, Deaf, Hearing Impaired, Speech Delays - Mild, Vision Impaired, Academically behind due to poor attendance, Mild Learning Disabilities, Speech or Language Impairment, One/Both Parents Diagnosed with Depression, One/Both Parents Have Alcohol Addiction, One/Both Parents Have Drug Addiction, Exposed to Domestic Violence, One/Both Parents Have Had a Mental Diagnosis, Multiple Placements, Diabetes, Epilepsy, Missing Limbs: May Require Prosthesis, Depression, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, Requires Counseling/Therapy, Willing to Maintain Contact via Mail with Bio Family, Willing to Maintain Contact with Past Foster Parents, Willing to Maintain Contact with Bio Grandparents & Other Relatives, Willing to Maintain Contact with Bio Siblings

Environment

State: Georgia
Neighborhood: Suburban
Residency:
Years Together: 8
Children in the Home: 0
Pet(s): Dog(s)

Work

Brett

Occupation: Mail Carrier

Ivy

Occupation: Librarian (Library Assistant)

Adoption Agency

Agency: Lowndes County DFCS
Worker: Davion Baynard
Worker: davion.baynard@dhs.ga.gov
City: Valdosta
State: Georgia
Zip: 31601

Family Description

Brett and I are a happily married couple of 8 years. We do not have children, and are looking to adopt a little girl we can shower with love. We have three small dogs, and are huge animal people. We both love to read, and collect books. We love to spend the day curled up on the couch together watching one of our favorite tv shows, or go out to dinner with our friends. We are both extremely close with our families, and spend time with them often.

Preference Description

We are looking to adopt a girl between the ages of 5 and 11 years old, of Caucasian, Asian, Hispanic, or Mixed Race ethnic background. We are willing to accept minor or medically correctable conditions, or mild learning disabilities.

Adding to the Asburys

We would like to adopt a child who is 11 or less. We would like to adopt a girl. We feel we can accommodate a single child. We prefer to adopt a child of Caucasian, Hispanic, Asian, Multi Racial, Mixed Race, or Pacific islander ethnic background. We are open to children with many, many special needs. In general, We are looking to adopt a girl between the ages of 5 and 11 years old. We are willing to accept minor or medically correctable conditions, or mild learning disabilities.

Introduction

Our names are Brett and Ivy Asbury. I am 29 years old. My husband is 37 years old. We do not yet have any children.

Brett works full-time for the United States Postal Service as a Mail Carrier. I work part-time for the South Georgia Regional Library as a Librarian (Library Assistant).

We both enjoy our jobs, and love supporting our local community through our work. As a librarian, I have an enormous passion for reading, and literacy. Our home is filled to the brim with books of all kinds. Brett is an extremely gifted cook, as he has been to culinary school. He loves coming up with his own creative recipes, and testing them out on me.

We are very close with our families, family is extremely important to us. We spend time with them as much as we can, whether its dinner with his parents, or us sitting out in my parents backyard with them, gathered around the fire pit.

Home and Community

We live in the State of Georgia. Our home is a single family home with three bedrooms. We live in a Suburban neighborhood. We live in a small southern town, that has two main public highschools, two libraries, and several private Christian highschools. Our town has an indoor play place, several parks, as well as a large theme park called Wild Adventures, which also contains a water park. We have three dogs, Mac the Boston/Pug mix, Frodo the Chihuahua, and Bella the long haired chihuahua.

Parenting Experience

Brett has vast experience with children, he helped his mother raise his younger half brother and sister when his step-dad passed away, and I have five younger cousins I grew up with, and babysat.

I have read the book The Connected Child, and will greatly rely on it.

Support

Both Brett and I have extensive family in the area where we live, who are ready to accept our new daughter with open arms.

My family that lives here (my parents, sister and brother in law, cousins, aunt, and grandparents) is very supportive and excited, because this will be our first child, as well as my grandparents first great-grandchild. My mom is ready to give me any parenting advice I need, my sister is excited to babysit if needed, and my grandma is ready to cook lots of homemade meals for our new daughter.

Bretts mom and step dad live nearby, as well as his half brother and half sister, and they are just as ready and excited!

Our community as a whole is extremely pro-adoption, with churches hosting IMPACT classes and holding adoption/foster support meetings. One of my friends that I went to middle school with is now an adoptive mom, and I have been able to reach out to her often for support.

Our friends who have children are so ready for play dates, and giving us advice.

Motivation to Adopt

Brett and I are fully dedicated to raising our future child with love, patience, and consistency. We are willing to do whatever it takes to ensure our future daughter has all of the tools she needs to be a well adjusted, kind, self-reliant adult.