A Family For Every Child
A Family For Every Child
Donate Now FAMILY LOGIN Contact Us
Facebook Twitter Linked In YouTube
 
Pinterest Instagram Blog

For further information, please call 877-343-2856 or email matching@afamilyforeverychild.org
Jen and Heather
Jen and Heather

Jen and Heather
Oregon

Basic Info

Jen

Age: 43
Sex: Female
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian
Religion: Agnostic

Heather

Age: 36
Sex: Female
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian
Religion: Agnostic

Child Preferences

Age: Infant to 13 years old
Sex: Either
Max Number of Children: 2
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian, African American, Asian, Native American, Hispanic, Pacific Islander


Special Needs the Family is Open To: Mild Physical/Medical Disability, Animal Allergies, Asthma, Drug Allergies, Environmental Allergies, Food Allergies, Physically Aggressive to Other Children, Defiant, Difficulty in Attaching, Difficulty Making Friends, Lying, Manipulative, Poor Social Skills, Self-Abuse, Stealing, Tantrums-Severe, Wets the Bed, Drug Addicted at Birth, Low Birth Weight or Premature, Prenatal Drug Exposure, Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Speech Delays - Mild, Speech Delays - Moderate, Vision Impaired, Anorexia/Bulimia, Hoarding, Overeating, Pica, Academically behind due to poor attendance, Cognitive Delay - Mild, Expulsion(s), Has Behavior Problems in School, Mild Learning Disabilities, Speech or Language Impairment, Suspension(s), One/Both Parents Diagnosed with Depression, One/Both Parents Diagnosed with Schizophrenia, One/Both Parents Have Alcohol Addiction, One/Both Parents Have Drug Addiction, One/Both Parents Diagnosed with Bipolar, Exposed to Domestic Violence, One/Both Parents Have Had a Mental Diagnosis, Child in Residential Treatment, Child has had a disrupted adoption, Multiple Placements, Residential Treatment History, Child on Probation / Parole, Convicted of Theft, ADHD, Diabetes, Missing Limbs: May Require Prosthesis, Aspergers Syndrome, Bipolar Disorder, Conduct Disorder, Depression, Willing to Maintain Contact via Mail with Bio Family, Willing to Maintain Contact with Past Foster Parents, Willing to Maintain Contact with Bio Grandparents & Other Relatives, Willing to Maintain Contact with Bio Siblings, Child Identifies as LGBT, History of Sexually Acting Out, Sexually Abused in the Past, Sexually Active, Alcohol Use, Marijuana, Smokes Cigarettes

Environment

State: Oregon
Neighborhood: City/Urban
Residency:
Years Together: 11
Children in the Home: 0
Pet(s): Dog(s), cat(s), small animal/rodent(s)

Work

Jen

Occupation: Park Operations Manager

Heather

Occupation: Operations Manager

Adoption Agency

Agency: A family for every child
Worker: Staci Super
Worker: staci@afamilyforeverychild.org
City: Eugene
State: Oregon
Zip: 97402

Family Description

We met out at an event where neither of us intended to meet anyone. It was completely unexpected and signaled the beginning of a life together filled with surprises. We met in 2007, got married in 2015, and are very excited about the idea of starting a new adventure as parents. Currently we share our home with 1 dog, 3 cats, 3 ducks and a bunny. Sometimes it feels a little like living in a petting zoo, but we wouldn’t have it any other way! We love the critters and consider them an important part of our family. As we write this letter, we are on our family room couch Mia and Smudge are on the couch with us and Carl (the dog) is snoring away. They are very supportive. Professionally, we’re both Operations Managers in the public sector. Jen is in parks and Heather is with a women’s sports league. Devoting time to help others is one of the things we both care deeply about, so it is a big part of our work as well as our play. On our weekends, we volunteer for a gleaning program we started – we collect produce from a farmers market and distribute it to seniors. When confronted with the reality of how many seniors are forced to choose between food and other necessities, like medication, we knew we had to do something. This will be our 10th season, and in that time we’ve given out over 150,000lbs of produce. The program was also the launching point of our Thanksgiving tradition – many of our local friends and family come, along with several volunteers, and we cook a homemade holiday meal at the senior center for 150-200 seniors and houseless people. In our free time, we enjoy hiking out in the gorge or at the coast; heading out to a restaurant; antiquing our way through Portland, Newberg, and wherever else we wander; and hosting our friends for brunch or weekly Wednesday dinner. Heather is also an aspiring aerialist (the long fabrics that you see in circus acts) and knitter. Jen experiments with roasting coffee and other culinary feats. When we’re able, we like to travel. So far, our favorite places have been Playa del Carmen in Mexico and Whistler in Canada. In the next few years, we hope to take a trip to Peru with two of our close friends (and hopefully a kiddo)!

Preference Description

We are open to up to two children of any ethnicity, race, or gender. Ideally we are looking for a child who is developmentally on track, or with mild to moderate delays.

Introduction

We are Jen and Heather Keisler Fornes and we are so excited to begin this journey. Because we are looking for the perfect fit for our family, we are open to up to two children of any ethnicity, race, or gender. Ideally we are looking for a child who is developmentally on track, or with mild to moderate delays. While we are tentatively looking at children under 10, if we found the right kid, we would be open to an older child as well.

If we find ourselves with a child from another ethnicity/race, we will identify resources and community groups to help us honor the child's background, as we believe those connections are critical.

We are hoping that contact with the biological family is possible and believe that openness is ideal if it is safe for the child/children. We would be open to any contact that case workers, CASA's, etc. think will be appropriate.

Child Preferences

Both of us work as Operations Managers. Jen is with a local regional government overseeing parks and Heather is with a roller derby league. Both employers are flexible with schedules and are excited to meet the kid(s) that join the family!

Heather takes aerial/circus classes, knits, bakes, and is trying to teach herself embroidery with mixed success. She also enjoys hiking, reading, shopping, and pretending to be good at arts and crafts.

Jen loves to cook, roast coffee, go hiking, play video games, and watch cartoons.

Both of us love to hang out with our pets (Carl the labrador, Serendipity, Smudge, and Mia the cats, Duck, Duck and Goose the ducks, and FuFu the bunny). We also love to travel locally and outside the country. Our next big trip (hopefully with our new addition!) will be to Peru to climb Machu Picchu! We also love to host family and friends for casual evenings of food, crafts, movies, and games as well as for big holidays. We LOVE to decorate for Halloween and Christmas, especially. When we're not doing that, we like to go to the zoo, plays, dance performances, circus shows and more! We love to experience new things and go new places.

In addition to all of that, we volunteer every week collecting produce for the local senior center and we're excited to share that community building with a new family member.

Home and Community

We live in a 2100sqft ranch home built in the 1950's. It has 4 bedrooms, two baths, and a great open floor plan ideal for hosting friends and family. The house has a huge front yard that is great for yard games as well as growing vegetables.

Most of our neighbors are fantastic retirees and families with younger kids. Our cul de sac butts up to the local elementary school and we're not far from the middle school or high school. Our elementary school was awarded the most diverse school in Portland and we have heard nothing but good things about the teachers there.

Outside of our residential community, we have a large network of friends and family excited to offer love, support, and babysitting! Many of our friends have experienced adopting, being adopted, or working in fields supporting adoptive families, which has been a really fun thing to learn as we have gone through this journey.

Heather is lucky enough to work from home, and when she can't, most of her meetings are kid friendly. In the event they weren't appropriate (or were just too boring), Jen works about 10 minutes from home and has a flexible schedule and supportive employer. Barring either of our availability for some reason, we plan on having friends assist with child care.

Near our house, we have multiple parks, community centers with pools and gyms, and we're pretty close to the Columbia Gorge (great hiking and beautiful scenery) and the Oregon coast as well as all of the amazing activities, food, and culture of Portland itself.

Parenting Experience

We are both really loyal - once we commit to someone or something, we are all in, no matter what. Since we've been together since 2007, we are confident in our relationship and ready to add in the next family member.

Jen has had more experience with kids, as she had a little brother who was 10 years her junior and was a nanny for 3 children for a while. She also volunteered with Big Brothers, Big Sisters. She has a natural way with kids who tend to like her immediately and typically want to listen to her.

Heather has less experience with kids, but has done a variety of babysitting jobs from her teens onward and currently oversees roller derby summer camps with 60+ kids ranging fro 7-12 years old and loves it. She especially loves the kids who are sassy and opinionated!

We have attended the foundations training for adopting from foster care and we really loved it. We felt it had great information and a ton of follow up resources. Since we attended that, we've also read a variety of books including "Whole Minded Child," "No Drama Discipline," "In On It," "Connected Child," "Parenting Without Power Struggles," "Parenting from the Inside Out, "Hospitious Adoption," and are working on books around trauma informed care.

Support

Our support team is critical to us. They range from close friends who are our "ride or die" people we've known for forever to our fantastic case worker who we've only known for a while, but know she's a great resource! We are also lucky to have a number of friends with adoption stories - either having been adopted or who have raised children from adoption. There are also a couple of our friends with biological children who are excited to offer help and friends with no children who are excited to be engaged aunts and uncles.

Throughout this journey our team has been involved as we made decisions, offering feedback, places to vent about how long the process is, and the gift of being excited about our forward progress even as we got discouraged.

Beyond our friends and family, we're lucky to be in a city with so many community resources for every possible group, sub group, and activity. We are confident that we can always find resources as needed.

Motivation to Adopt

One of the characteristics that we share is commitment. We take our time in making commitment decisions and once they are made, they are forever. Particularly when it relates to a child - or any other living being - we believe that once you say "yes," you don't go back.

We fully understand that every child coming from foster care will have challenges to overcome and that parenting, no matter what the origins, is hard. We also fully believe that it will be worth it when at the other end of the journey there is a person who is a benefit to their community.