A Family For Every Child
A Family For Every Child
Donate Now FAMILY LOGIN Contact Us
Facebook Twitter Linked In YouTube
 
Pinterest Instagram Blog

For further information, please call 877-343-2856 or email matching@afamilyforeverychild.org
Dagmara and Hans
Dagmara and Hans

Dagmara and Hans
Oregon

Basic Info

Dagmara

Age: 36
Sex: Female
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian
Religion: Christian

Hans

Age: 38
Sex: Male
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian
Religion: Christian

Child Preferences

Age: Infant to 13 years old
Sex: Either
Max Number of Children: 2
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian, African American, Asian, Hispanic, Pacific Islander, Mixed, Bi-Racial, Unknown


Special Needs the Family is Open To: Mild Physical/Medical Disability (Open to Discussion), Animal Allergies, Asthma, Drug Allergies, Environmental Allergies, Food Allergies, Defiant, Difficulty in Attaching, Difficulty Making Friends, Encopresis, Lying, Manipulative, Poor Social Skills, Stealing, Wets the Bed, Drug Addicted at Birth, Failure to Thrive, Low Birth Weight or Premature, Prenatal Drug Exposure, Requires Life-long Medical Treatment, Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Physically Disabled-Mild, Hearing Impaired, Speech Delays - Mild, Speech Delays - Moderate, Vision Impaired, Anorexia/Bulimia, Hoarding, Overeating, Academically behind due to poor attendance, Cognitive Delay - Mild, Has Behavior Problems in School, Mild Learning Disabilities, Moderate Learning Disabilities, Speech or Language Impairment, Suspension(s), One/Both Parents Diagnosed with Depression, One/Both Parents Have Alcohol Addiction, One/Both Parents Have Drug Addiction, One/Both Parents Diagnosed with Bipolar, Exposed to Domestic Violence, One/Both Parents Have Had a Mental Diagnosis, Child in Residential Treatment, Child has had a disrupted adoption, Multiple Placements, Residential Treatment History, Limited Life Expectancy Due to Illness, ADHD, Arthritis, Diabetes, Epilepsy, Hemophilia, Missing Limbs: May Require Prosthesis, Seizures, Adjustment Disorder, Aspergers Syndrome, Bipolar Disorder, Depression, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, Requires Medication For Psychiatric Condition/Mental Health Diagnosis, Requires Counseling/Therapy, Runaway - Past, Willing to Maintain Contact via Mail with Bio Family, Willing to Maintain Contact with Past Foster Parents, Willing to Maintain Contact with Bio Grandparents & Other Relatives, Willing to Maintain Contact with Bio Siblings, Child Identifies as LGBT, History of Sexually Acting Out, Sexually Abused in the Past

Environment

State: Oregon
Neighborhood: Suburban
Residency:
Years Together: 5
Children in the Home: 0
Pet(s): Dog(s)

Work

Dagmara

Occupation: Teacher

Hans

Occupation: Treasury Management Specialist

Adoption Agency

Agency: A family for every child
Worker: Heather Raskin
Worker: heather@afamilyforeverychild.org
City: Eugene
State: Oregon
Zip: 97402

Family Description

Our home consists of ourselves as well as our two dogs, Link and Winston. We have been together for 5 years, and over that time built a strong relationship of love and support for each other. We are excited by the prospect of providing a child in need of a good, stable and loving home. We were both blessed with families that were very caring and encouraging, and we hope to provide a similar nurturing environment in which our future child has the love and support to accomplish any goals he/she sets their mind to, and to pursue a variety of activities to help them grow as an individual. Spending time adventuring in the outdoors is a deeply rooted passion of ours, and we hope to pass that on to our future child-- from weekend car camping trips and hikes in the Summer, to cross-country ski outings in the Winter. Education and learning of all forms is also very important to us, having both been brought up in households where one parent was a longtime teacher. Finally, we understand the importance in preserving and fostering any relationships an adopted child has with his or her own biological family, and hope that those individuals will continue to be an active part of the child’s life.

Preference Description

We hope to adopt a child or sibling group of two of any ethnic background, age 13 and under. We're willing to accept minor or medically correctable conditions, a child with special needs such as PTSD, attachment, learning, or minimal developmental delays.

The McKnight Family Profile

We would like to adopt a child, or sibling group of two, ages 12 and under. We have no preference on gender and feel that any ethnic background will blend well with our family. We are open to children with many special needs. We are willing to accept minor or medically correctable conditions, a child with special needs such as PTSD, attachment, learning, or minimal developmental delays. We hope to find a child or sibling set who enjoys the outdoors as this is a passion of ours. It is also very important that our future child(ren) be comfortable with our two dogs.

We feel that it is in the best interest of the child to maintain all positive relationships with biological family members or significant figures post-placement, and we will do everything we can to facilitate this. We will also make every effort to incorporate the child's ethnic heritage in their daily lives.

Introduction

Our names are Dagmara (Dag) and Hans McKnight. Dag is currently 35 years old. Hans is currently 37 years old. We do not yet have any children.

Dag works full-time for the University of Oregon as a Research Assistant and has a somewhat flexible work schedule. She is currently enrolled in an online Master's of Education program to obtain a teaching license and be able to teach middle or high school science. Hans works full-time at Summit Bank as a Treasury Management Officer.

Outside of work we enjoy many outdoor activities together, including: cross-country and downhill skiing, backpacking and hiking, and camping and "trailering". Hans also loves running and playing ultimate frisbee with the Eugene City League, and Dag has recently developed a passion for long distance cycling. We also greatly enjoy having friends and family over for board game and dinner nights, as well as to watch Duck football games.

Home and Community

We live in a suburban neighborhood in Eugene, Oregon with our two dogs: a two year old Miniature Australian Shepherd named Link, and an 8 year old Yorkie-Poo, Winston. Our house is on a quiet street that abuts Churchill High School and Kennedy Middle School, with a large playground, skate park, and a number of soccer fields.

We are involved with two main volunteer opportunities here locally, including Dag's longtime family participation of volunteer work and fundraising for Mt. Pisgah Arboretum, and Hans' volunteering at Habitat for Humanity, serving on their financial review board.

We recently joined an adoption support group here in Eugene which meets monthly, as well as attending weekly church services at the Eugene Faith Center which we were introduced to by friends and a local foster mom for whom we have provided respite care. The church offers a number of day camps in the summer for children of all ages, as well as playtime and daycare during services, and is a very welcoming and supportive community which we plan to become more involved with in the future.

Parenting Experience

We have provided daytime respite care for a local foster mom beginning when he was five months old last summer. We have a number of close family friends with children that we enjoy spending time with on a regular basis. Dag also worked as a part time nanny during college for a young boy with special needs during the first 3 years of his life. In addition to the Foundations Classes, we have read extensively on the topics of attachment and bonding as well as positive parenting, and are learning all we can from the members of the adoption support group for prospective and adoptive parents which we recently joined. We hope to be a resource to them both through support and future respite care as well.

Support

We have a very extensive network of family and friends who have shown us great support over the years. Dag's mom, Krystyna, is a semi-retired nurse who lives in Eugene and the two are extremely close. Krystyna has agreed to help with childcare post-placement as well. Hans' parents live in Florence, where they bought a house on Woahink Lake after retiring. Both sets of parents and all of our extended family and friends are fully in support of our desire to adopt, and are excited to include the child(ren) in our shared traditions.

Motivation to Adopt

While we both have always known that we wanted to be parents, shortly after our wedding we learned that Dag would not be able to carry her own children due to biological complications. We were not discouraged by this, instead seeing it as a wonderful opportunity to give a child in need a loving and supportive home. We know that this path will present a number of challenges, but we feel confident that with our strong network of support we will be able to provide a positive and stable home environment for our future child.

For a closer look at our family and activities please visit our blog: https://dagmarston.wixsite.com/dagandhans