A Family For Every Child
A Family For Every Child
Donate Now FAMILY LOGIN Contact Us
Facebook Twitter Linked In YouTube
 
Pinterest Instagram Blog

For further information, please call 877-343-2856 or email matching@afamilyforeverychild.org
Stephanie and Louis
Stephanie and Louis

Stephanie and Louis
Oregon

Basic Info

Stephanie

Age: 52
Sex:
Race/Ethnicity:
Religion:

Louis

Age: 75
Sex:
Race/Ethnicity:
Religion:

Child Preferences

Age: 5 to 12 years old
Sex: Either
Max Number of Children: 2
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian, African American, Asian, Native American, Hispanic, Pacific Islander, Mixed, Bi-Racial, Unknown


Special Needs the Family is Open To: Animal Allergies, Asthma, Drug Allergies, Environmental Allergies, Food Allergies, Difficulty Making Friends, Lying, Manipulative, Poor Social Skills, Self-Abuse, Stealing, Suicidal Attempts, Tantrums-Severe, Wets the Bed, Drug Addicted at Birth, Failure to Thrive, Fetal Alcohol Effected, Prenatal Drug Exposure, Gastric Tube, Requires Life-long Medical Treatment, Tracheotomy, Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Physically Disabled-Mild, Blind, Deaf, Hearing Impaired, Speech Delays - Mild, Speech Delays - Moderate, Vision Impaired, Hoarding, Overeating, Academically behind due to poor attendance, Cognitive Delay - Mild, Has Behavior Problems in School, Mild Learning Disabilities, Speech or Language Impairment, Suspension(s), One/Both Parents Diagnosed with Depression, One/Both Parents Have Alcohol Addiction, One/Both Parents Have Drug Addiction, One/Both Parents Diagnosed with Bipolar, Exposed to Domestic Violence, Child has had a disrupted adoption, Multiple Placements, Residential Treatment History, Child on Probation / Parole, Convicted of Theft, Previously Incarcerated, ADHD, AIDS, Arthritis, Cancer, Cerebral Palsy, Cystic Fibrosis, Diabetes, Down Syndrome, Epilepsy, Heart Disorder: May Require Surgery, Hemophilia, HIV, Missing Limbs: May Require Prosthesis, Muscular Dystrophy, Seizures, Sickle Cell Disease, Sickle Cell Traits, Spinal Bifida, Adjustment Disorder, Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, Bipolar Disorder, Conduct Disorder, Depression, Intermittent Explosive Disorder, Oppositional Defiant Disorder, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, Previous Psychiatric Hospitalization, Reactive Attachment Disorder, Requires Medication For Psychiatric Condition/Mental Health Diagnosis, Requires Counseling/Therapy, Destructive of Property, Runaway - Occasionally, Runaway - Past, Willing to Maintain Contact via Mail with Bio Family, Willing to Maintain Contact with Past Foster Parents, Willing to Maintain Contact with Bio Grandparents & Other Relatives, Willing to Maintain Contact with Bio Siblings, Child Identifies as LGBT, History of Sexually Acting Out, Sexually Abused in the Past, Sexually Active

Environment

State: Oregon
Neighborhood: Country/Rural
Residency: Single Family Home
Years Together: 12
Children in the Home: 1
Pet(s): Dog(s), other

Work

Stephanie

Occupation: stay at home mom

Louis

Occupation: Stay at home dad, retired

Family Description

My Husband and I have been foster parents for about 6 years. We adopted our son, who is 4.5years old and is special needs. He came to us a foster placement at 6 months old. We currently have a 15 year old young lady placed with us. She has been in our home for 3 months and looks to be a long term foster placement. We also have a former foster daughter that was a long term foster placement and is a frequent visitor and is definitely a member of our family, big sis to my son and one of our adult daughters. My husband has 2 adult children, 40+yrs old, that live in California and I have 2 adult daughters, 1 in the Navy and 1 living in Nevada. Our home study was completed 2 years ago; we would like our son to have siblings to grow up with. We are a family of children and animals; we jokingly call our home "Animal House". 3 dogs, 7 chickens, guinea pigs, fish, birds and sometimes rabbits. Unfortunately, our son is allergic to cats. Our Home is a 1\4 acre urban farm in downtown Medford. We have plenty of room to play in a very secure, large back yard that has a play house, swings, trampoline and a very large swimming pool. The yard is large enough that our son rides his quad around yard. We purchased and have lived in our home for 9 years. We also have property on Lopez Island WA, that we spend a good deal of the summer. My husband retired from truck driving a year ago and before that he was a commercial building contractor. He has a Bachelor’s degree in City Planning. He is currently remodeling 2 of his sister’s homes that live here in Medford. My husband loves to cook and teach others to cook. He loves to read to our son every night. I am a stay at home mom and very involved with the children. I have an associate’s degree and am 9 credit hours from my bachelor’s degree in Social Work. We enjoy gardening, camping, rafting, kayaking, canoeing, sailing, etc...

Preference Description

We are experienced in helping a child to overcome traumatic brain injury and are open to learning to help children with almost any attribute they have.

The Casey Family Profile

We would like to adopt a child between the ages of 1 and 15 inclusive. We are open to boys or girls. We feel we can accommodate a sibling group of up to 3 kids. Any ethnic background will blend in with our family. We are open to children with many, many special needs. We will carefully consider most children with these general characteristics.

Introduction

Our names are Stephanie and Louis Casey. I am currently 49 years old and was born in Iowa. My husband is currently 70 years old and was born in Ohio. We have one child. Our child's name is Dominic Casey and he/she is 7 years old. Our child enriches our family with their caucasian and asian/pacific-islander ethnic background. kayaking, Canoeing, camping, reading, crafts and repurposing an re-sale. gardening Canoeing, Camping, reading, gardening, home repair, bowling I am a stay-at-home parent and have a flexible work schedule. My partner is a stay-at-home parent and has a flexible work schedule. Treat others as you would like to be treated. Karma, do good and good will return to you. Christian Don't sweat the small stuff, life is good

When we gather, we usually gather in living/ dining room and winter: reading, television, crafts, puzzles, listening to music, taking care of the chickens dogs and household pets summer: Swimming in our pool, gardening, cooking on the grill, reading, caring for pets/ animals. house projects

Home and Community

We live in the State of Oregon. Our home is a single family home. We live in the country We are friends with our neighbors.

Parenting Experience

My husband and I have four adult bio children and our adopted 7 year old son. We have been foster parents for 9 years and are still very much involved with a few of our previous foster children that are now adults, we are their parents. We have participated in Boy and Girl Scouts and little league baseball. My husband and I read many parenting books and take advantage of the many training opportunities offered thru DHS and online.

All required for DHS adoption and foster certification and any that are suggested by certifiers, case workers and teachers. And any that we find interesting.We also check out books constantly from ORPARC.

Support

We have a very strong extended family and friends that are very supportive of our family. We live in a small community that has wonderful schools and many programs that are beneficial to all students. Our adult foster daughter lives close by and is a big sister to our son and a positive member of our family.

Motivation to Adopt

My husband and I love parenting and that is why we became foster parents. When we were given the opportunity to adopt our son, our lives and family blossomed. Our son came to us with traumatic brain injury and developmental delays, he is flourishing and asking for siblings and my husband and I feel that it is time to expand our family. We have had to advocate for our son to help him through his disabilities and we know we can offer our love family and experience to other children.